things that Kitty likes

Nicole by OPI Holiday Glitters Swatches

Hey guys! Today I have for you Nicole by OPI’s Holiday Glitters Collection. I blogged about this a few days back and here are the swatches for them. Get ready for a lot of glitter action with these 4 shades!

First up is Glitter In My Stocking.

Nicole by OPI Glitter In My Stocking

I love, LOVE, L-O-V-E this shade! Glitter In My Stocking is made up of mostly gold glitter in a clear base. The other color of glitter in it is orange-y red. I left this one on my nails and did a lot of cleaning including doing dishes by hand and I got no wear at all. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI Glitter In My Stocking (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Glitter In My Stocking (lighting changed)

Nicole by OPI Glitter In My Stocking (direct sunlight)

Nicole by OPI Glitter In My Stocking (close-up)

Next up, we have My Sleigh’s In The Shop.

Nicole by OPI My Sleigh's In The Shop

Okay, the name suits the theme of this collection. I get that. But what about the shade? What is magenta about one’s sleigh? Maybe the sleigh is “bruised” or something? I’m confused. The shade itself is pretty. It is made up mostly of magenta glitter with bits of gold and orange-y red glitter in a clear base. Formula is good and dried pretty fast. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI My Sleigh's In The Shop (in shade)

Nicole by OPI My Sleigh's In The Shop (direct sunlight)

Nicole by OPI My Sleigh's In The Shop (close-up)

Nicole by OPI My Sleigh's In The Shop (lighting changed)

We can’t NOT have a red in a Holiday Collection, right? Here’s Orna-ment For Each Other.

Nicole by OPI Orna-ment For Each Other

Orna-ment For Each Other is a more orange-y red than a Christmas red. I’m glad Nicole by OPI decided to go this route being that all other Holiday Collections are probably focusing on varying degrees of Christmas red. It’s a nice change, slightly off from the rest. It is made up of mostly red glitter with some gold and a bit of orange-y red glitter (from what I can make out of it) in a clear base. Formula is great and applies smoothly onto the nail. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI Orna-ment For Each Other (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Orna-ment For Each Other (direct sunlight)

Nicole by OPI Orna-ment For Each Other (close-up)

Last is my favorite among all 4, Snow-man Of My Dreams.

Nicole by OPI Snow-man Of My Dreams

Oh, hell-o Mr. Snowman. Stunning? Yes. Name to the shade? Passable. Like it? Love it. The explosion of glitter in this shade is undeniably awesome. It is made up of multicolored glitter in a clear base. I see silver, blue, pink, red, gold and green. The dominant glitter shades I see is blue and silver. Formula is great. It gave me no problems during applications. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI Snow-man Of My Dreams (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Snow-man Of My Dreams (lighting changed)

Nicole by OPI Snow-man Of My Dreams (direct sunlight)

Nicole by OPI Snow-man Of My Dreams (close-up)

Overall? All 4 shades are different colored glitters in a clear base. The glitter is small and quite packed, needing lesser coats than I thought to reach full opacity. As you can see, I used 2 coats in all swatches and they’re pretty opaque already for that. They all suit the Holiday season well. Formula is consistent among all shades, not too gooey, dries fast and applies very nicely onto the nail. It has some grittiness when dry, but it’s not the grittiest I’ve ever experienced. A layer of top coat should take care of that.

These limited edition shades should be available in November 2011 for $7.99 each in the U.S. at HEB, Sears, Stage Stores, select Target locations, Target.com, and ULTA. In Canada, lacquers will be retailed for $10.99 each in Shoppers Drug Mart, Loblaw and Zellers.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

6 responses

  1. Pingback: Nicole by OPI Holiday Glitters Swatches « kittypolishnbags

  2. My Sleigh is in the Shop is the only one I’m not wild about. The rest I could easily purchase. The In My Stocking is my fav; love it.

    October 17, 2011 at 7:46 AM

    • I love that one too. It’s the one I left on my nails. ♥

      October 17, 2011 at 10:47 AM

  3. Snow-Man Of My Dreams is definitely my favourite! It reminds me of our Canadian winter (which isn’t that far off, darn it!). I don’t know which I prefer on you; they’re all so pretty! Quite festive….makes me want to start Christmas shopping already, lol!

    October 18, 2011 at 10:05 PM

    • I’ve already started Christmas shopping! Haha! The Holidays is one of my favorite times of the year.

      October 19, 2011 at 1:46 AM

  4. Pingback: Nicole by OPI Holiday Glitters Collection « kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

