things that Kitty likes

Deborah Lippmann Do Ya Think I’m Sexy?

Among the 6 shades from the Deborah Lippmann Holiday 2011 Collection, the 2 I was most excited about are Do Ya Think I’m Sexy? and Stairway To Heaven. I only have one of her Holiday 2011 shades and was fortunate enough that it’s one of the 2 I liked most. Here’s Do Ya Think I’m Sexy?

Deborah Lippmann Do Ya Think I'm Sexy?

Do Ya Think I’m Sexy? is made up of her signature hex glitter in red in a clear base. This shade was originally dubbed as “Jessica Rabbit” and is later renamed. Here’s the back story behind this shade:

“I did my one woman show at the famous NYC Feinsteins earlier this year and I wore a ‘couture’ red sequin Jessica Rabbit gown. Since I can’t wear that dress daily I decided to create a color we could all wear all holiday long. We even used the shade in the hottest fall runway show Rodarte. Talk about feeling sexy when you are wearing nail color!”

Formula is typical of her glitter shades. I usually apply thicker coats for glitter shades with a clear base. Shown is 2 generous coats with no top coat.

Deborah Lippmann Do Ya Think I'm Sexy? (in shade)

Deborah Lippmann Do Ya Think I'm Sexy? (lighting changed)

Deborah Lippmann Do Ya Think I'm Sexy? (direct sunlight)

Deborah Lippmann Do Ya Think I'm Sexy? (close-up)

Deborah Lippmann Do Ya Think I'm Sexy? (last shot)

The shots where the glitter seems to give off an orange-y glow are the ones I like best. Most of the time, it looks like the other shots. It’s basically common red glitter, but much larger and in a hexagon shape. It’s definitely dazzling and will catch people’s eye when they’re on your nails. Removal is what’s expected out of a glitter shade.

This shade should be available on Deborah Lippmann’s website and at other retailers such as Barneys New York, Neiman Marcus, and Nordstrom. I was told that it should hit the shelves around late October, but I’ve heard some were able to get them already as they pre-ordered them with a department store.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

17 responses

  1. beachgal12

    Is it a red/orange or a red/gold? I am loving it, whatever the combo it is – but I have a big DL bias. I have never had a disappointment in any that I have bought. Her cream formula is beyond fab. I am curious with one of the new ones that is a pink Rolex shade it’s described as – forgetting the name. It looks really smooth in the bottle shots despite it’s a DL pearl/frost. Some of her frosts will show brush strokes if not really careful – but this one looks so smooth I am hoping it won’t have the brush strokes some that look more swirled frosted in the bottle end up. I just got all the new fall shades from DL. Thought I did not have Billionaire but won it today for way under cost which surprised me. I still need to get I know What Boys Like – that great DL blue cream from last summer, Boom Boom and a few others still around that I want to round out my stash. I don’t mind paying $16 for a great DL cream vs. $16 or more for a London Butter that can be iffy on the formula – I just got Waity Katy and wish I did not get it. It’s not a very nice shade and really gloppy formula wise.

    Great shots on this one by the way! Thank for the really good views.

    October 3, 2011 at 3:50 AM

    • It’s really just red, but under the sun it’s orange-y really depending on how the sun hits it. That’s the hue I love most about this shade. It’s really just regular red glitter but larger and hex.

      The Glamorous Life is the frost one you’re talking about I think. I really hope it doesn’t show brush strokes like her other frost shades that I have.

      October 3, 2011 at 9:29 AM

  2. I think she should have stuck with “Jessica Rabbit”… I would totally buy it just for the name 🙂

    October 3, 2011 at 7:55 AM

  3. Haha I have to agree I like the Jessica Rabbit name myself. I love Deborah Lippmann shades, and this is really pretty. I’m most interested in Stairway To Heaven though!

    October 3, 2011 at 9:46 AM

    • Me too! It’s the one everyone’s been buzzing about!

      October 3, 2011 at 9:48 AM

  4. wow, you’re most definitely one sexy polish 😀

    October 3, 2011 at 12:05 PM

    • I love it in the shade but when the sun reflects on it. The glow is so pretty!

      October 3, 2011 at 12:06 PM

  5. Glittery goodness!

    October 3, 2011 at 5:19 PM

  6. I think it would fit in for Valentine’s Day too.

    October 3, 2011 at 7:08 PM

  7. MissMidnightBlue

    What Lisa said! 😀 I love the 3rd pic. It looks like its all FIREY!!

    October 4, 2011 at 1:34 AM

    • In shade where the lighting is right, that’s how it looks and it’s the look that I LOVE most. ♥

      October 4, 2011 at 10:18 AM

  8. Yeah, I can totally see where Jessica Rabbit comes in! Once more, the light gives it an otherworldly look; golden red one minute, red gold the next…sort of like goldfish scales! It’s screamingly sexy, that’s for sure! Love this!

    October 4, 2011 at 11:56 AM

    • Overall, I love it. But it’s basically the common red glitter except in bigger and hex-shaped chunks. I love that look the most too.

      October 4, 2011 at 1:48 PM

  9. Pingback: Deborah Lippmann Holiday 2011 Collection « kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

