things that Kitty likes

Sally Hansen Terracotta

Hey guys! I have another shade from Sally Hansen’s designer series. According to the information I got, Rachel Roy enlisted Sally Hansen to create a rich neutral nail that suits all skin tones for her eclectic, 70s-inspired fall collection. The result? Terracotta, a creamy toffee Complete Salon Manicure shade — the perfect accent to Roy’s pattern-heavy, layered looks.

Sally Hansen Terracotta

The bottle is different (thanks for saying something Nat!) cause it broke in transit. It was a clean break and I was able to transfer it to one of my empty franken bottles. This one applied like a dream. It applied on smoothly and I’ve never had a problem with Sally Hansen’s formula. Their formula can be a bit on the thin side, but it’s not watery at all. If I remember right, this one dried pretty fast for a creme shade. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Sally Hansen Terracotta (in shade)

Sally Hansen Terracotta (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Terracotta (close-up)

I don’t particularly like how it looks against my skin tone. I’ve always stayed away from nudes and neutrals for this reason. It just looks wrong. 😦 But I can’t complain at all about the product itself since it’s quite superb. This should be available at wherever Sally Hansen is retailed in October.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

9 responses

  1. It looks like a cheap drugstrore foundation, I like it for that reason. That wouldn’t be a nude to me at all but I’d wear it because of its outdated 70’s vintage feel. (On a related note, I’ve always thought that a brand like MAC should release their foundation range in polish, that’d be so interesting)

    Have Sally Hansen change their bottle or something?

    September 26, 2011 at 12:02 PM

    • Ahhh! Nat, I’m glad you said something about the bottle. It broke on its way to me so I had to transfer it. Editing post now. 🙂

      September 26, 2011 at 12:13 PM

    • P.S. Interesting take on a brand releasing shades based on the shades of their foundation. It would be neat to see I think!

      September 26, 2011 at 9:19 PM

  2. It looks like the matte color of the SH polish my grandma wore. Because of that, I wouldn’t get it. LOL *old as dirt*

    September 26, 2011 at 1:26 PM

  3. beachgal12

    This is very retro 70’s. Right on the money. I had about 6 bottles all around this shade by mid 70’s when I finally was getting a bit more grown up and not into my no bra, no polish – hippy days. New bottle shape for this line in SH? Or is it the angle of the photos?

    October 1, 2011 at 11:35 PM

    • beachgal12

      Oh – now I see what the deal is with the bottle! And ! Kimberly – call me your grandma – I wore it then in the 70’s and will wear it again. I had been looking for a Terracotta shade I had told the lady who cuts my hair since last fall. Now that we got back into corals I figured they would crop up again pretty soon – they were around in the mid to late 80’s as well. But you had to look at brands known for older lady safe shades then to find it like Estee L and Mary Kay (with at that time the same company made both of their polish lines).

      October 1, 2011 at 11:39 PM

    • Bottle broke during transit to me. 😦 I had to decant it quick to save it.

      October 2, 2011 at 12:31 AM

  4. Pingback: Sally Hansen So Much Fawn | kittypolishnbags

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.