things that Kitty likes

Milani Blue Lightening

Blue Lightening (I keep trying to spell lightening correctly!) is part of Milani’s latest collection MEWOW Look At My Nails!, which features a few new high speed fast dry polishes. I didn’t think much about this shade based on the press release picture, but after reading what NouveauCheap wrote on her blog….I knew there was more to it than my first impression.

Milani Blue Lightening

Blue Lightening had a lot of promise when seen in person. At least just based on looking at the bottle. There is some duochrome yumminess going on in there! I mean, just look at it! I kept tilting the bottle back and forth to see the color change. Formula was nice and smooth. It dries really fast and it’s not gritty like most sparkly shades, probably cause it’s a glass fleck sparkle instead of glitter. I do believe that this shade can pass for the one coat formula that it claims to be. I tend to apply very thin coats, so I ended up using more than one. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Milani Blue Lightening (in shade)

Milani Blue Lightening (direct sunlight)

Milani Blue Lightening (close-up)

Milani Blue Lightening (lighting changed)

Milani Blue Lightening (last shot)

My only complaint is I can’t really see the duochrome that much. It doesn’t show up in the pictures at all for me, but it’s there in person. Don’t expect buying this and being blown away by being a duochrome. I do love the glass fleck sparkle in this beautiful blue. It’s simply stunning, don’t you agree?

Shades from the MEWOW Look At My Nails! Collection should be available in select Walgreens stores this month nationwide for about $4.99 each. You can also grab these on their website while they still have ’em.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

9 responses

  1. It looks like there is a flicker of a duo showing through on the bottle. There’s some serious depth to this gorgeous blue!

    September 24, 2011 at 6:03 PM

    • It’s not a complete disappointment at all……quite far from what I expected in the press release shot! A keeper for me even if it’s not as duo on the nail.

      September 24, 2011 at 6:19 PM

  2. MissMidnightBlue

    Oooooh pretty! this reminds me of ORLY’s Lunar Eclipse. 🙂

    September 24, 2011 at 9:23 PM

    • Haha! I have that one and will do a comparison later on. Good eye!

      September 25, 2011 at 11:13 AM

  3. Jenn

    This reminds of Sally Hansen’s HD Laser..

    September 25, 2011 at 6:48 AM

    • I do have that one. I’ll put that on my comparison list for later. I haven’t done any comparisons yet, ever!

      September 25, 2011 at 11:13 AM

  4. Pingback: Milani Krackle Top Coat « kittypolishnbags

  5. Pingback: Milani MEWOW Look At My Nails! Collection « kittypolishnbags

  6. Pingback: Milani Krackle Top Coat | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

