things that Kitty likes

China Glaze METRO Swatches

These shades are out and you can still score them at ULTA stores if you haven’t yet. I don’t have all 12 shades, but these would hopefully help y’all. I’m posting swatches in the order of the press release.

First up is CG In The City.

China Glaze CG In The City

CG In The City is made up of fine glitter in gold, silver, purple, bronze, and maybe a few other colors in a clear base. Formula for this is pleasant for a glitter shade. Definitely would be good for layering over other shades. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze CG In The City (in shade)

China Glaze CG In The City (direct sunlight)

China Glaze CG In The City (close-up)

Up next is Traffic Jam.

China Glaze Traffic Jam

The creme shade that totally caught me eye is Traffic Jam. It’s my favorite creme from this entire collection. Formula was very rich and smooth. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Traffic Jam (in shade)

China Glaze Traffic Jam (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Traffic Jam (close-up)

Next is a red creme called City Siren.

China Glaze City Siren

Every collection has to have a red creme and in this collection, it’s City Siren. Formula was really good and it dried pretty fast. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze City Siren (in shade)

China Glaze City Siren (direct sunlight)

China Glaze City Siren (close-up)

A red shimmer that I definitely wanted the moment I laid my eyes on is Loft-y Ambitions.

China Glaze Loft-y Ambitions

Described as “burgundy shimmer and cocktail hour – nothing better”, this color definitely steals the spotlight. I have had several people asking me what this one is when I had it on. Formula was good to work with. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Loft-y Ambitions (in shade)

China Glaze Loft-y Ambitions (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Loft-y Ambitions (close-up)

The most interesting one in this collection is Midtown Magic.

China Glaze Midtown Magic

I mean, just look at it. It’s amazing. It makes me think of shades like Wagon Trail. A mix of all kinds of goodness in this shimmery shade. Formula was great and it dries really fast. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Midtown Magic (in shade)

China Glaze Midtown Magic (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Midtown Magic (close-up)

Next up is a brown creme called Street Chic.

China Glaze Street Chic

Street Chic is one of the shades that surprised me in this collection. I didn’t think a light brown creme shade like this would be part of a Fall collection. I was expecting darker browns. This one applied nicely and gave me no problems. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Street Chic (in shade)

China Glaze Street Chic (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Street Chic (close-up)

Next up is Concrete Catwalk.

China Glaze Concrete Catwalk

This one’s described as a “steel grey” creme shade, but this ones much darker than what I pictured “steel grey” to be. Formula was just as good as all the other creme shades in this collection. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Concrete Catwalk (in shade)

China Glaze Concrete Catwalk (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Concrete Catwalk (close-up)

Last one I have is Westside Warrior.

China Glaze Westside Warrior

Everyone needs a camo green shade in their collection. In my opinion, Westside Warrior embodies this color perfectly. This rich creme shade applied onto my nails smoothly. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Westside Warrior (in shade)

China Glaze Westside Warrior (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Westside Warrior (close-up)

Overall, pretty good. There were more cremes than I expected, but Traffic Jam alone got me so excited about the entire collection. A clear win for China Glaze in my book.

I got 4 of these sent to me for review. I had to get the rest from a beauty supply store, but they were out of Skyscraper. Other than that, I pretty much have all the shades I want in from this collection.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

5 responses

  1. Pingback: China Glaze METRO Collection « kittypolishnbags

  2. beachgal12

    I bought only 2 of these at first – Skyscraper which I had been calling it – but here you have it as In The City. I have to look up the names on line of the collection. I maybe have it wrong. I also got Midtown Magic. None of the other shades excited me at all. Then I kept thinking of Traffic Jam. Never got it until it went on close out and picked it up then along with Lofty Ambitions. I have to take the latter outside and really look at it better as I never have seen the shimmer in it. It’s dark and looks like a deep brown red to me. I have worn it with a topper only so if it had any shimmer deep in there I have never seen it – but do see it slightly in the sunlight photo in the bottle especially. See you skipped getting that odd yellow shade that many were goofy over. It did not appeal to me at all.

    January 29, 2012 at 1:43 AM

    • I do NOT like that yellow shade. It would look dreadful on me!

      Yeah, Skyscraper is the blue glittery one……I still have to hunt it down and probably end up swapping for it.

      January 29, 2012 at 1:57 AM

  3. I got some of the same ones as you but haven’t managed to try any of them yet. I really have got to stop letting my buying get so far ahead of my time to swatch. 🙂

    January 31, 2012 at 11:13 AM

    • Same here! I know what you mean! I just got some of their other stuff on clearance from ULTA and I won’t be able to swatch them until March or so!

      January 31, 2012 at 11:40 AM

Leave a Reply

