things that Kitty likes

Mattese Elite Crackalacquer Swatches

Most companies have churned out some form of crackle or shatter shades. Mattese Elite has done it as well with their Crackalacquer Collection. I’ve had these for a while now and decided to use them over other Mattese Elite shades. The most recent collection I got was Cosa Nostra, so I used these over those. Note that I do not have White Crackeled in the collection of 6. These are shown in the same order as the press release.

First up is Gold Crackeled.

Mattese Elite Gold Crackeled

I used this over the frosty gunmetal shade Boss. I thought both shades will have enough contrast for a nice cracked look. The gold metallic shade really shines through under direct sunlight.

Mattese Elite Gold Crackeled (in shade)

Mattese Elite Gold Crackeled (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Gold Crackeled (close-up)

Next is Silver Crackeled.

Mattese Elite Silver Crackeled

I used this over the bright pink Goomah Comare. I’ve always liked silver against shades like pink. Even though Silver Crackeled is metallic, it has a matte-ish finish.

Mattese Elite Silver Crackeled (in shade)

Mattese Elite Silver Crackeled (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Silver Crackeled (close-up)

Next is the classic black, Black Crackeled.

Mattese Elite Black Crackeled

I used this over the lightest shade in the collection, Consigliere. I thought that black creme would look best against the lightest shade I could use.

Mattese Elite Black Crackeled (in shade)

Mattese Elite Black Crackeled (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Black Crackeled (close-up)

Up next is Pink Crackeled.

Mattese Elite Pink Crackeled

I used this over the dark blue Vig. I wasn’t sure if the color contrast between these 2 would work, but I’m glad it did after all. The pink looks pretty over it with a subtle shimmer.

Mattese Elite Pink Crackeled (in shade)

Mattese Elite Pink Crackeled (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Pink Crackeled (close-up)

Last one I have is Blue Crackeled.

Mattese Elite Blue Crackeled

I used this over the plum purple called Whack. Since Pink Crackeled works over the blue Vig, this is just like the reverse. Blue Crackeled is a stunning shimmery blue. I LOVE this shade.

Mattese Elite Blue Crackeled (in shade)

Mattese Elite Blue Crackeled (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Blue Crackeled (close-up)

Overall? Well, we can only do so much with this type of finish. It’s been done already by many other brands, but the formula is consistent with all shades and application is super easy. They all cracked nicely and dried in no time with one coat. You can experiment doing thicker and thinner coats to get different effects. I think this is shown the most with Black Crackeled over Consigliere.

You can score any of these beauties directly on their webpage or if you live in the wonderful state of New York, you can stop by at any Ricky’s NYC store locations (see here) and see this and other shades for yourself before you buy. Mattese Elite shades retails for $5.99 each before tax.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Mattese Elite Crackalacquer Collection « kittypolishnbags

  2. beachgal

    I sound like a broken record these days but know my feelings are shared by many. I am sooo over with the crakles/shatters. I just what the entire tred to go to the bargain basement bins and be gone. They look messy and not in a good way. No offense to those of you who love them still and wait to see what other shades any company can come up with. I think the only ones that I sort of liked where a few shades that CG had in their metallic crackles – but still way too thick for my taste in the over all look.

    September 8, 2011 at 2:55 PM

    • CG formula has always been thicker than the others for me, not sure why. But I agree. While they can look pretty with different combos, it’s been done over and over again. That’s the one thing I don’t understand….why release it when so many others have done too. But yeah, Milani just came out with theirs too and I still have to feature the Sally Hansens I got. I skipped over the Color Clubs. I’ll only get them if I see it at ROSS.

      September 8, 2011 at 4:06 PM

  3. I still like crackles/shatters, but I’ve barely started using them!

    September 8, 2011 at 8:28 PM

    • There are just so, so many. But these cracked very well. It got my thumbs up for what it’s supposed to do!

      September 9, 2011 at 12:28 AM

  4. I’m pretty feed up with crackle, bu recently I’ve started experimenting much more with crackle, making spots and taking two colors over each other. So I guess there is still some hope…

    September 12, 2011 at 12:02 AM

    • I’m going to try applying it from side to side of the nail or in angles. I’ve seen other bloggers do zigzags and such too. Using 2 colors is something I haven’t done. Have to try this!

      September 12, 2011 at 9:25 AM

Leave a Reply

