things that Kitty likes

AVON Anew Solar Advance Sunscreen Face Lotion

What’s important in a facial moisturizer? Emphasis has been given on sunscreen protection for many years now. I hate to admit that I haven’t really cared about the importance of having SPF in my facial moisturizer until probably a year ago. I’ve never been to a dermatologist before. I might eventually get an appointment for one in the next few months just to see what they have to say about the condition of my skin in general. I have tried a new facial moisturizer lately, one that has more SPF than anything I’ve used before for my face. Enter AVON’s Anew Solar Advance Sunscreen Face Lotion SPF 45.

AVON Anew Solar Advance Sunscreen Face Lotion

The facial moisturizer comes in a sleek golden-yellow squeeze bottle container and is packed in a golden box. The back of the box states the following:

“Anti-aging sun care breakthrough with RepairShield™ Technology is formulated to help protect skin from UVA/UVB and help visibly reduce the signs of sun damage.

Facial cream dramatically reduces the appearance of wrinkles and dark spots.

70% of women agree skin looks beautiful and years younger.*

Lightweight, non-greasy. No white residue. Non-comedogenic. Oil free. Very water-resistant.

*Based on those who expressed an opinion in consumer perception testing.”

The back of the bottle (and the box) reads the following directions:

To Use: Apply liberally and evenly 15 minutes before sun exposure. Reapply as needed or after towel drying, swimming or perspiring. Children under 6 months of age: ask a doctor.

Warning: For external use only. When using this product keep out of eyes. Rinse with water to remove. Stop use and ask a doctor if rash or irritation develops or lasts. Keep out of reach of children.

Uses: Helps prevent sunburn. Higher SPF gives more sunscreen protection. High sun protection product. Retains SPF after 80 minutes of activity in the water.

AVON Anew Solar Advance Sunscreen Face Lotion SPF 45

What I love about this product? It has a higher SPF than my previous facial moisturizer. The tube packaging it comes in is easy to use and carry. I can slip it easily into my purse and it doesn’t shatter when I drop it (which happened several times). It stays true to the description on the box stating that it’s lightweight, non-greasy and doesn’t leave a white residue. The product is a bit thicker than a lot of facial moisturizers I have used and will feel slightly greasy at first, but it dissolves right onto my face and it doesn’t feel greasy at all after that. I have used this product for 4 weeks now and noticed that my face doesn’t get as dark as it usually does in the same amount of time. The added SPF does make a difference in my experience. Removal is also easy. I just wash my face with my usual facial wash and it comes right off.

What I don’t like about this product? Not much to complain here really. For 2.6 oz of product and a $34 price tag, this is in the median range for a good facial moisturizer. Where to get it might be the problem for some since this is not sold in retail or drugstores. But I’m sure you can always track down a local AVON store or AVON lady by you.

For the price, it’s worth it compared to similar items from other brands. This is a product I will definitely buy again.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

4 responses

  1. I got a bottle of this to test from Avon before they put it to market. I liked the entire idea of it. The only issue I had was that it felt heavy and greasy on my face. I only wear it when I’m running because it is just too heavy to wear under makeup. Now, that was the ‘test’ formula. They could have changed it before it hit the catalog. ??? And, with that, I strongly urge you to take care of your skin now so you don’t look your age when you hit 40. That tip has made a huge difference with me. 🙂

    September 5, 2011 at 8:03 PM

    • I know! I was thinking why did I wait until I’m close to 30 to start?! I never wear face makeup at all. If I do for work for a day or two, it’s just eyeliner and mascara usually.

      With that said, it felt greasy initially. It absorbed quickly into my face though and after a while, I forgot about it until removal. I’ve also used a dab here and there for my face, to avoid using too much product. It’s been 4 weeks, so it’s possible that I got used to the texture/feel of it too.

      September 5, 2011 at 11:42 PM

  2. Been using it since last summer and I absolutely love it! There’s a reason it has great reviews everywhere you look!

    September 13, 2011 at 7:20 PM

    • I’ve been using it everyday since I got it. I think I’m going to continue using it even after this bottle.

      September 13, 2011 at 11:34 PM

Leave a Reply

