things that Kitty likes

Zoya modmattes Swatches

Today, I have the 3 shades from a limited edition collection by Zoya. A few months ago, they released this 3 piece collection called modmattes. These 3 new matte shades suits summer perfectly.

First up is Lolly.

Zoya Lolly

Lolly is a beautiful, bright pink matte shade that one can classify as hot neon pink. To me, almost there but not quite. 🙂 It is described on their website as “bold, saturated medium magenta pink cream with a velvety matte finish” and “a very colorful new matte style for perfect stand-out Barbie pink nails.” I don’t have any pink matte shades, so this is definitely sticking around for a while. Formula was a bit thick. I applied it quickly onto my nails being that I anticipated that mattes dry fast. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat. The last shot has top coat on.

Zoya Lolly (in shade)

Zoya Lolly (direct sunlight)

Zoya Lolly (close-up)

Zoya Lolly (with top coat)

Next up is Mitzi.

Zoya Mitzi

Mitzi is the one I liked the least among the 3. It’s a shade that I fondly say it reminds me of a Shrek green. The description on their website of “funky murky light yellow-toned lime green cream with a velvety matte finish” is spot on. While the color is fun, the formula was not with this in particular (compared to the other 2). I can’t decide if the problem was either the application of it is streaky or patchy or both. I swatched this several times and finally settled for these set of swatch pictures. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat. I used top coat in the last shot.

Zoya Mitzi (in shade)

Zoya Mitzi (direct sunlight)

Zoya Mitzi (close-up)

Zoya Mitzi (with top coat)

Last shade in this collection is Phoebe.

Zoya Phoebe

Phoebe is my favorite shade of the 3. This bright blue is an absolute stunner. My co-worker friend who shies away from bright shades picked this one for her mani recently. We were all shocked. The description of this gorgeous shade on their website is “bright azure with fine electric blue and violet shimmer with a velvety matte finish” and I couldn’t agree more. With top coat on, BAM! The shimmer comes out beautifully. I will say this now, we are all huge fans here of this particular Zoya shade. This one didn’t give me any trouble at all during application. I am even debating getting another bottle of this. Absolute ♥. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat. With top coat shot is the very last one.

Zoya Phoebe (in shade)

Zoya Phoebe (direct sunlight)

Zoya Phoebe (close-up)

Zoya Phoebe (with top coat)

Are you a fan of bright shades? I haven’t always been one, but I sure am now! 🙂

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Zoya modmattes Limited Edition Collection « kittypolishnbags

  2. Using the word ‘velvety’ is absolutely perfect of these. I think they all look awesome on you too.

    August 9, 2011 at 6:43 PM

  3. Zoya Phoebe, Mitzi, and Lolly are all nice colors! Phoebe’s my favorite, though!

    August 9, 2011 at 7:14 PM

    • Phoebe is the crowd favorite! The girls are going gaga over it, trying to find outfits in that shade!

      August 9, 2011 at 7:34 PM

  4. beachgal

    I love the pink one and think I will toss it on my Zoya shopping cart…but would only wear it with a shiny clear coat – just not a fan of mattes.

    August 9, 2011 at 8:14 PM

    • You’re just like me then. My preference is with top coat. It’s the only reason I have mattes and suedes. If I couldn’t put a top coat on it, I’d probably pass.

      August 10, 2011 at 9:33 AM

Leave a Reply

