things that Kitty likes

Nicole by OPI Texture Coat Swatches

I believe these are of the same formula as the OPI shatters, so no need to get these if you already have the ones from OPI. 🙂 I have no complaints overall with this collection other than maybe having different colors instead (there’s already OPI shatters out for all these shades). Application technique is the same for crackles and shatter shades, work fast and one coat. Overdoing the coat will ruin it. I used these over one coat of 6 different holographic frankens of mine.

Let’s start with Gold Texture.

Nicole by OPI Gold Texture

I used Gold Texture over my Fear franken. I thought a dark base color would make the gold pop out well. Formula was thick and applied on smoothly. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI Gold Texture (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Gold Texture (direct sunlight)

Nicole by OPI Gold Texture (close-up)

Next up is Silver Texture.

Nicole by OPI Silver Texture

I used Silver Texture over my Loyalty franken. The silver works well with the blue holographic shade as the base. Formula was nice and smooth. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI Silver Texture (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Silver Texture (direct sunlight)

Nicole by OPI Silver Texture (close-up)

Next is Red Texture.

Nicole by OPI Red Texture

I used Red Texture over my Deception franken. I thought for sure this combo would fail and that I should’ve used a lighter shade for the base color, but it surprisingly turned out okay. Formula was a bit on the thin side and slightly gooey, but applied okay. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI Red Texture (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Red Texture (direct sunlight)

Nicole by OPI Red Texture (close-up)

Next, we have White Texture.

Nicole by OPI White Texture

I used White Texture over my Darkness franken. I paired White Texture with my darkest holographic franken for that contrast. Formula was good and dries really fast. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI White Texture (in shade)

Nicole by OPI White Texture (direct sunlight)

Nicole by OPI White Texture (close-up)

My favorite, Turquoise Texture, is next.

Nicole by OPI Turquoise Texture

I used Turquoise Texture over my Courage franken. I originally tried this over Envy and you just couldn’t see the Turquoise Texture at all against the dark green holographic shade. Formula, for me, was the best among all 6 textures. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI Turquoise Texture (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Turquoise Texture (direct sunlight)

Nicole by OPI Turquoise Texture (close-up)

And lastly, Black Texture.

Nicole by OPI Black Texture

I used Black Texture over my Truth franken. I was concerned that the black would blend in with this darker blue holographic shade, but there is enough contrast for it to stand out against it. Formula was good and applied on smoothly. Shown is one coat with no top coat.

Nicole by OPI Black Texture (in shade)

Nicole by OPI Black Texture (direct sunlight)

Nicole by OPI Black Texture (close-up)

Overall? Nothing new really. OPI has released shatters already and these are of the same formula as those, just that more shades are offered.

These should be available already in Target stores nationwide.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

8 responses

  1. I liked most of them, except the white and the red shatters! Loved the franken in the first one!

    August 31, 2011 at 9:36 AM

  2. beachgal

    Oh no! Another brand with crackles/shatters/textures! I am in ‘that camp’ of ready for this trend to go away!!!

    August 31, 2011 at 10:25 AM

    • I just saw that Milani is releasing their line of these too. 😦 These have been out for a month at least I think. I just haven’t gotten around to it, but yeah….doesn’t seem like the trend is dying.

      August 31, 2011 at 11:03 AM

  3. Does the silver and gold look like it has some holo glitter in it? They both have some nice depth of color to them.

    August 31, 2011 at 8:14 PM

    • No holo glitter as far as I can remember. They are really nice. They’re my 2 favorites followed by the turquoise one.

      September 1, 2011 at 9:45 AM

  4. I have yet to see the white and turquoise versions of these in stores around here–the displays only have slots for the gold, silver, red, and black. Which I admit I bought even though I have OPI versions (but not of the gold) and don’t especially like the Nicole bottle. I’m an addict, I tell you. 🙂

    September 1, 2011 at 9:02 AM

    • The bottle shape…..it’s a running joke that it looks like saggy part of a woman’s body. It’s just awkward. It doesn’t fit well into my polish rack so it has to go into the Melmers.

      September 1, 2011 at 9:46 AM

Leave a Reply

