things that Kitty likes

Dr.’s Remedy Hot Hot Hot Summer Swatches

I finally got a chance to swatch these 5 shades from Dr.’s Remedy and some are definitely winners in my book! It’s scorching hot over where I am. Over 100 degrees every single day! These shades suit this hot summer season well.

Let’s start off with Lovely Lavender.

Dr.'s Remedy Lovely Lavender

Lovely Lavender is a pretty dusty lavender creme shade. This creme shade made me think of Healing Heather Grey. I think it’s cause of the dusty creme in it. Sorry for the stain in the cuticle area. I swatched this shade last and the shade swatched before this, Traquil Tangerine, stained my cuticles. Application was a breeze. It went onto my nail smoothly. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Dr.'s Remedy Lovely Lavender (in shade)

Dr.'s Remedy Lovely Lavender (lighting changed)

Dr.'s Remedy Lovely Lavender (direct sunlight)

Dr.'s Remedy Lovely Lavender (close-up)

Next is Glee Gold.

Dr.'s Remedy Glee Gold

Glee Gold is a very vibrant light gold shimmer. I own several gold shades, but nothing quite like this at all. Formula was on the thin side for this shade and it’s pretty sheer. Shown is 3 coats with no top coat.

Dr.'s Remedy Glee Gold (in shade)

Dr.'s Remedy Glee Gold (direct sunlight)

Dr.'s Remedy Glee Gold (close-up)

Up next is the most summery shade to me in this set, Tranquil Tangerine.

Dr.'s Remedy Tranquil Tangerine

Tranquil Tangerine is a juicy orange shade that simply screams summer. This golden orange shade is quite bright with tons of shimmer. Formula was good and it dries pretty fast in between coats during application. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Dr.'s Remedy Tranquil Tangerine (in shade)

Dr.'s Remedy Tranquil Tangerine (direct sunlight)

Dr.'s Remedy Tranquil Tangerine (close-up)

Here comes my favorite in this collection, Bold Baby Blue.

Dr.'s Remedy Bold Baby Blue

Bold Baby Blue is a silvery blue shimmer shade. Shades like these….I expected them to have a frost finish. This one’s definitely a shimmer with a slight foil look to it. Application was nice and easy. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Dr.'s Remedy Bold Baby Blue (in shade)

Dr.'s Remedy Bold Baby Blue (lighting changed)

Dr.'s Remedy Bold Baby Blue (direct sunlight)

Dr.'s Remedy Bold Baby Blue (close-up)

Last shade in this set is called Nurture Nude Pink.

Dr.'s Remedy Nurture Nude Pink

I normally don’t pay much attention to nudes cause I find them boring. It’s just a personal preference really. Nurture Nude Pink caught my eye with the surprise shimmer that I absolutely did NOT expect. It applied like a dream and has a shiny finish. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Dr.'s Remedy Nurture Nude Pink (in shade)

Dr.'s Remedy Nurture Nude Pink (lighting changed)

Dr.'s Remedy Nurture Nude Pink (direct sunlight)

Dr.'s Remedy Nurture Nude Pink (close-up)

Dr.'s Remedy Nurture Nude Pink (lighting changed again)

So what do you guys think? Overall, not bad. I did expect more brighter shades for summer, but this gives something for everyone I think. Not everyone would be able to find something in an all bright shade collection.

These come in the standard 0.5 fl oz bottle and retails for $17 each on their website.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

8 responses

  1. I’ve been tossing around the idea of trying this brand out. Do you think their product is hyped up?

    August 3, 2011 at 4:12 AM

    • A little, but I have no complaints about the formula at all and they have pretty nice shades. With that said, they don’t have shades that are utterly unique that you can only get from them like some of Deborah Lippmann’s shades. I would only get one to begin with if I were trying it out the first time to see if it’s worth it, kinda like what I did with e-england polishes. I’d probably end up with 3 or 4 unless they have sales later on.

      August 3, 2011 at 9:31 AM

  2. I love Dr’s Remedy and these were lovely! My favorites are Tranquil Tangerine and lovely lavender!

    August 3, 2011 at 5:49 AM

    • That orange was definitely something, wasn’t it? I have a couple oranges, but none quite like that one.

      August 3, 2011 at 9:32 AM

  3. I like that pink nude 🙂 Also the lavender although it wouldn’t look good on me.

    August 3, 2011 at 6:03 AM

    • That pink nude was a pleasant surprise. If it didn’t have the shimmer, I wouldn’t even give it a second thought.

      August 3, 2011 at 9:33 AM

  4. I think the orange is the best. However, I like them all save for the nude. Not all that interesting, but that’s just my opinion.

    August 4, 2011 at 1:39 PM

    • Nudes do nothing for me in general. I tend to only like those that have shimmer. The orange is so vibrant! I was suprised!

      August 4, 2011 at 2:10 PM

Leave a Reply

