things that Kitty likes

Caronia Nail Care Line

I have had the opportunity to use various items from Caronia’s Nail Care line. Overall? Not bad at all. Read on for the breakdown.

Caronia Solvent & Nail Polish Remover

First nail care item I pulled out is Caronia’s Solvent. The right side of the bottle states “Thins and dissolves nail enamel. Helps clean your metal manicure implements.” and the left side indicates the following directions: “Use a few drops of Caronia Solvent to thin out nail enamel or to clean your metal nail implements.”

Verdict? Works perfectly except that this doesn’t come with a dropper or brush. I did end up using this and had some difficulty since I had to pour directly out of the bottle. Just be careful to avoid spills when using this. I didn’t use this to clean my metal nail implements though, so the verdict for that is up in the air.

Next item I used is Caronia’s Nail Polish Remover. The right side of the bottle states “Removes nail polish fast without drying!” and the left side indicates the following directions: “Prepare your nails for a fresh manicure by removing old nail polish. Put a generous amount of Caronia Nail Polish Remover on a cotton ball. Wipe on nails until all nail polish has been removed.”

Verdict? If I lived here permanently in the Philippines, this is the polish remover I’d always use. It works really well in removing nail polish and it has a very pleasant smell. It contains 81% acetone, but it’s not drying at all! I didn’t bring any polish remover with me when I was traveling, as I anticipated that this item waiting for me over there would suffice and it sure did!

Caronia Cuticle Remover & Cuticle Sanitizer

Before painting my nails, one of the items I used is Caronia’s Cuticle Remover. The right side of the bottle states “Softens and helps remove overgrown cuticles, giving you a gentle manicure experience!” and the left side indicates the following directions: “Start preparing the cuticles and nail bed for a manicure by removing old nail polish with Caronia Nail Polish Remover. Brush on a generous amount of Caronia Cuticle Remover. Allow cuticles to get soaked and soften before pushing. After pushing, brush away excess cuticle and nail plate particles before applying Caronia Cuticle Sanitizer.”

Verdict? Very effective! It works really well. I followed the instructions and the excess cuticle particles came right off as promised! Only downside is the brush. It’s pretty stiff compared to brushes of other brands I’ve used.

Next, I used Caronia’s Cuticle Sanitizer. The right side of the bottle states “Cleans, disinfects and sanitizes yoru nails white it keeps your cuticles healthy-looking!” and the left side indicates the following directions: “Apply Caronia Cuticle Sanitizer to cuticles after cleaning and pushing. Gently brush nails to distribute tint evenly for that healthy-looking cuticle. Wipe off excess liquid on nail bed with clean cotton or towel. Allow to dry before applying Caronia Nail Hardener and Base Coat.”

Verdict? I found this one a bit strange, but that’s probably because of the pink-ish orange tint of the solution. My nail plates do feel dry and ready for a manicure, void of any oils and such. I think it’s a step that I can skip most of the time when doing a manicure. The brush is the same kind as the Cuticle Remover, so it’s quite stiff as well.

Caronia Nail Hardener & Base Coat, Fast-Dry Top Coat & Kwik-Dry & Cuticle Conditioner

First of the 3 I used is Caronia’s Nail Hardener & Base Coat. The right side of the bottle states “Protect your nails from breaking and chipping with a base coat that locks on to nail polish color!” and the left side indicates the following directions: “Apply one coat of Caronia Nail Hardener and Base Coat. Let dry, then apply 2 coats of Caronia nail polish. Apply every other day for 2 weeks to help harden nails.”

Verdict? Not bad for a base coat really. It does the job and it has a very glossy finish, which I imagine would keep the manicure looking good if you’re using it as a nail hardener too. I didn’t follow the last line of instructions, since my nails aren’t soft at all to begin with. The brush looks to be of the same as the Cuticle Remover and Cuticle Sanitizer, but I noticed it seems softer during application. I chalked it up to the ingredient listing of each nail care item being different and that this one softens the brush more.

The next item I used is Caronia’s Fast-Dry Top Coat. The right side of the bottle states “Get durable, glossy finish in express time!” and the left side indicates the following directions: “Top off your Caronia nail polish with 1 layer of Caronia Fast-dry Top Coat and the manicure will be touch-dry in 3 minutes. Maintain manicure by re-applying on nails after 2 days.”

Verdict? This is where I got confused. The Nail Hardener & Base Coat asks me to reapply every other day for 2 weeks and this one asks me to re-apply on nails after 2 days. It seems redundant. But it sure does what it says. In 3 minutes it’s definitely dry. I rubbed my finger over my manicure and got to smudges at all. The finish is super glossy too. I’m actually very impressed with this item.

Last item I tried is Caronia’s Kwik-Dry & Cuticle Conditioner. The right side of the bottle states “Dry your nail polish faster and keep it smudge-free while you condition your cuticles at the same time!” and the left side indicates the following directions: “One minute after applying Caronia nail polish, gently brush on one layer of Caronia Kwik-Dry & Cuticle Conditioner. To use as a cuticle conditioner, wash hands and apply to cuticles. Massage cuticle from nail tip to nail base. To maximize conditioning effect, apply before going to bed.”

Verdict? Okay, I was so confused with this item at first. I initially read it as a fast drying top coat and conditioner at the same time. How could that be?! After following directions, I came to the realization that it is indeed a conditioning item for the most part. This item only has 2 ingredients, Isopropyl Palmitate and Mineral Oil. I used this item as a conditioner instead of a quick dry tool. It works very well as a conditioner. It’s not too greasy and my cuticles are happily conditioned everyday so far in my trip. My nose didn’t detect any scent at all for the most part. I recommend it definitely.

I hope the reveiw of each Caronia Nail Care item helps you guys in the Philippines somehow. They’re pretty affordable and some are available in larger sizes than as shown.

These are available in all leading department stores, supermarkets, drugstores, and health & beauty shops in the Philippines nationwide. You can also check out other shades from their core collection online. They also carry some hand and foot care items.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

2 responses

  1. Thanks for the reviews. I am curious about makeup and polish from other countries.

    July 17, 2011 at 6:52 AM

    • No problem! Everything is useful to me except maybe the Cuticle Sanitizer. I could do without it definitely.

      July 17, 2011 at 7:58 PM

Leave a Reply

