things that Kitty likes

Caronia Sweet Bliss Swatches

I’ve has this collection waiting for me for a while now. I haven’t had a chance to swatch it cause I just got back to the Philippines. I didn’t think about what a hard time I’d have swatching somewhere else I’m not used to at all. That was the first challenge. It felt like I was chasing the sun the whole time. It didn’t help that it’s the rainy season here right now. But I persisted and managed to swatch them all. My cuticles are so sore from all the retakes. Y’all would notice too that the background keeps changing in all the shots (unlike the standard static background I usually have). Enough babbling, let’s move on to the swatches!

First up is Baby Pink.

Caronia Baby Pink

This shade is described as a “salmon pink” and is my favorite of the bunch. The formula though…..it was thick and gloopy. I don’t know if it’s just my bottle or what cause I didn’t have this problem with any of the other shades. Since I had some difficulty with this, I had to thin it out and it took me more coats than usual to even out the patches. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

Caronia Baby Pink (in shade)

Caronia Baby Pink (direct sunlight)

Caronia Baby Pink (close-up)

Next up is a shade called First Crush.

Caronia First Crush

This one’s described as a “rich lilac” and applied like a dream. I was dreading that the rest of the shades in this collection would apply like Baby Pink. Glad this isn’t the case! This shade is actually opaque with just one coat, but since I have some ridges from buffing I used 2.

Caronia First Crush (in shade)

Caronia First Crush (direct sunlight)

Caronia First Crush (another angle)

Caronia First Crush (close-up)

Next up is a summery one called Sun Kissed.

Caronia Sun Kissed

I don’t have that many oranges in my stash and that’s why I was excited to try this one out. This rich orange creme is described as a “pumpkin orange” by the brand. First coat went on a bit patchy, but it evened out with another coat. The formula is a little bit watery, but not unmanageable at all. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Caronia Sun Kissed (in shade)

Caronia Sun Kissed (direct sunlight)

Caronia Sun Kissed (close-up)

Another bright one in this bunch is called Sweet Surprise.

Caronia Sweet Surprise

This shade is described as a “lemon yellow” and is the perfect summer shade. Formula is a bit watery, like Sun Kissed, but it evened out with another coat. This is the only one among them all that is labeled “Frosted” instead of “Regular” on the back of the bottle. This shade has micro silver flecks in the yellow creme base, but this is definitely not a traditional frost that I’ve dealt with before. I know that Caronia has always used the term “Frosted” for shades I would classify as shimmer. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Caronia Sweet Surprise (in shade)

Caronia Sweet Surprise (lighting changed)

Caronia Sweet Surprise (direct sunlight)

Caronia Sweet Surprise (close-up)

Next up is the hardest one to photograph, On-The-Go.

Caronia On-The-Go

I tried many, many times to get really clear pictures of this shade and these are the best that came out. On-The-Go seems to me the most popular one among all 6. There’s something about shades in the teal family that lacquerheads absolutely love. Just like First Crush, this is pretty opaque. It’s a one coater, but I used more for the ridges to be less visible. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Caronia On-The-Go (in shade)

Caronia On-The-Go (direct sunlight)

Caronia On-The-Go (close-up)

Last one in this set is a shade called Summer Fling.

Caronia Summer Fling

Summer Fling is a coral creme described as “coral red” in the press release. This one went on my nails smoothly. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Caronia Summer Fling (in shade)

Caronia Summer Fling (direct sunlight)

Caronia Summer Fling (close-up)

These are available in all leading department stores, supermarkets, drugstores, and health & beauty shops in the Philippines nationwide. You can also check out other shades from their core collection online. They also carry some hand and foot care items.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

13 responses

  1. I love the purple & the greenish teal one!

    July 14, 2011 at 1:46 AM

    • Good thing is those 2 applied like a dream and are technically one coaters!

      July 14, 2011 at 2:10 AM

  2. On-the-Go is my absolute favorite; first crush next. I had more trouble photographing first crush though!

    July 14, 2011 at 1:58 AM

    • I knew it! On-The-Go just seems like a crowd favorite! Teals usually are!

      July 14, 2011 at 2:09 AM

  3. Summer Fling and Baby Pink look very pretty.

    July 14, 2011 at 9:50 AM

    • They do indeed! They’re the lighter ones in the bunch.

      July 14, 2011 at 10:56 AM

  4. You made these look awesome. And for that pink being a pistol, you did wonders with it. It looks just as great as the others.

    July 14, 2011 at 4:21 PM

    • Thank you for the sweet words Kim. I swatched the pink 3 times and it was still tricky!

      July 15, 2011 at 12:56 AM

  5. The Spy

    Summer Fling is definetly my favorite! It amazing that your able to keep up with the swatches even though your own a trip, very dedicated! Great swatches once again!

    July 14, 2011 at 11:52 PM

    • You’re too sweet! Thank you for yout kind words! 🙂

      July 15, 2011 at 12:57 AM

  6. A great collection of colors–very summery!

    July 15, 2011 at 8:23 AM

    • Formula is not close to brands we get in the US though. The one coaters were a pleasant surprise!

      July 15, 2011 at 8:04 PM

  7. I actually like all of these, pity the first pink was such a pain because the color is gorgeous and squishy looking! Naturally I love the yellow and the orange.

    July 19, 2011 at 10:19 PM

Leave a Reply

