things that Kitty likes

China Glaze Anchors Away Swatches

Better late than never, right? Well, that’s what I say with China Glaze’s nautical themed Anchors Away Collection. I’ve encountered a few delays in getting the whole collection, but now they’re all here and swatched. Just in time before the whole set is all gone from ULTA too! You never know when they phase out seasonal collections like this. I’m pretty sure that Sally Beauty Supply never got this collection in their stores though. Without further ado, here are swatches for all 12 shades in this collection.

First up is Life Preserver.

China Glaze Life Preserver

Life Preserver is described in the press release as a “highly pigmented and luxurious poppy creme” and it’s pretty accurate. My initial thought was that this is an orange shade, but I was sorely mistaken. It is less orange-y than I though, which is a pleasant surprise. I like red more than orange by default, just a preference. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Life Preserver (in shade)

China Glaze Life Preserver (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Life Preserver (close-up)

Next, we have Knotty.

China Glaze Knotty

Described as a “micro-particle beige shimmer”, Knotty is a refreshing shade in this collection that I surprisingly liked. I think it’s the shimmer that reeled me in. I am a sucker for shimmery shades. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Knotty (in shade)

China Glaze Knotty (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Knotty (close-up)

The green in this collection is a shade called Starboard.

China Glaze Starboard

Starboard stood out for me in this collection, as it’s not a very nautical themed shade. Described as a “hip and playful green creme”, it’s a shade that I would not normally sport. If it’s green, it has to be a shimmer usually. It’s a nice shade that makes other colors pop in a mani. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Starboard (in shade)

China Glaze Starboard (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Starboard (close-up)

White Cap is one that I thought I wouldn’t like at all in the beginning.

China Glaze White Cap

Look at how awesome this white shimmery shade is! I changed my mind about not caring to have it once I put it on my nails. It definitely is a “whimsical and sparkling multi-dimensional white” shade. This is pretty sheer, which is meant to be used more as a top coat I think. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze White Cap (in shade)

China Glaze White Cap (direct sunlight)

China Glaze White Cap (close-up)

And we have another glitter top coat here in Lighthouse.

China Glaze Lighthouse

“Multi-dimentional, bright yellow glass speck”? This yellow-gold shade has tons of sparkle. I don’t have that many gold shades that’s kind of sheer, so this is a welcomed addition to my collection. It reminds me a lot of Cowardly Lyin’, from an earlier collection of China Glaze. Just like White Cap, it’s pretty sheer even if you used 3 coats. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Lighthouse (in shade)

China Glaze Lighthouse (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Lighthouse (close-up)

Next up is the blue in the bunch, First Mate.

China Glaze First Mate

I think China Glaze’s description is pretty apt for this shade, “sophisticated and rich navy creme”. It’s pretty opaque and I thought about going with just one coat. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze First Mate (in shade)

China Glaze First Mate (direct sunlight)

China Glaze First Mate (close-up)

Here is another light shade, Sunset Sail.

China Glaze Sunset Sail

This shade is a warm and peach-y. To me, it’s a milky beige with lots of shimmer. It’s described as a “delightful peachy pink high shine creme”. Not sure why it’s described as a creme when it has shimmer though. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Sunset Sail (in shade)

China Glaze Sunset Sail (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Sunset Sail (close-up)

Here we have a bold red creme called Hey Sailor.

China Glaze Hey Sailor

I absolutely love this red creme shade! Hey Sailor is pretty opaque. I almost just left the application at one coat as well, just like First Mate. The description of “vibrant red creme” is spot on! Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Hey Sailor (in shade)

China Glaze Hey Sailor (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Hey Sailor (close-up)

One of my favorites from this collection is Sea Spray.

China Glaze Sea Spray

Sea Spray is a pale blue shimmery shade. I can see the grey in this delicate shade. The shimmer is barely there. This one’s described as a “delightful peachy pink high shine creme” and again, what’s with the creme part of the description in these shimmery shades? It boggles my mind. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Sea Spray (in shade)

China Glaze Sea Spray (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Sea Spray (close-up)

One of the shades I liked the least is Below Deck.

China Glaze Below Deck

I’m not a huge fan of these mauve-y creme shades, so this one didn’t do anything for me. It’s just a personal preference though. With cremes, I prefer bright and bold shades. This one’s described as “a flirty mix of taupe and violet”. Pretty accurate, don’t you think? Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Below Deck (in shade)

China Glaze Below Deck (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Below Deck (close-up)

Next is my favorite from this entire collection, Ahoy!.

China Glaze Ahoy!

I thought I would like this one the most based on the initial press release pictures and I was right. Described as “delightfully intense pink that flashed with reflective glass speck”, this shade is simply right up my alley! Lots of shimmer and shine, this glass flecked shade stole my heart the moment I put it on my nails. To me, it looks like a cross between Raspberry Festival and Strawberry Fields, both from the China Glaze Summer Days Collection released a few summers ago. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Ahoy! (in shade)

China Glaze Ahoy! (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Ahoy! (close-up)

Last shade in this collection is called Pelican Gray.

China Glaze Pelican Gray

Pelican Gray is a light, pale grey with some hidden shimmer. It’s a neutral shade that has subtle shimmer, which we have seen a lot of lately. Is this a trend of some sort? But this soft grey is a nice addition to have in my collection under the safe for work category. This one’s described as a “high shine, cool-toned grey creme” and again…..the creme part? I’ll stop now. 🙂 Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Pelican Gray (in shade)

China Glaze Pelican Gray (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Pelican Gray (close-up)

I think China Glaze did well with this collection, but definitely played it safe. After all, it is a Spring collection and that’s reflected fairly well. Formula for all these are pretty consistent. The cremes applied nice and smooth onto my nails and the shimmers are a teeny bit on the watery side without giving me ny problems during application. Drying time is just as what is expected from creme and shimmer shades.

Catch these shade while you can still at retail stores where China Glaze is sold such as ULTA.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

9 responses

  1. These are some of the best pictures I’ve seen of Knotty and Sunset Sail. And I’m ashamed to admit that I’ve forgotten all about my little bottle of Sea Spray! I really need to break it out soon because it is such a beautiful color!

    June 15, 2011 at 1:46 PM

    • Coming from you, that means a lot to me! Thank you girl for the kind words!

      June 15, 2011 at 2:01 PM

  2. The Spy

    In my opinion I think Ahoy! May be my favorite of the collection, always do like a shade of red! Great swatches!

    June 15, 2011 at 4:07 PM

  3. How does Below Deck compare to Mattese Elite Releve?

    June 15, 2011 at 6:40 PM

    • In the bottle, Below deck is a smidge lighter. I’d bet they’re like sisters than twins though. I’ll have to swatch it to know for sure.

      June 15, 2011 at 8:02 PM

  4. I only got a few of these at first (Sea Spray, White Cap, & Starboard) but kept picking up more every time I saw them so now I’m only missing a few. If I see Life Preserver and Lighthouse on clearance, I bet I’ll pick them up too. I do think I can resist Hey Sailor, so that’s a tiny bit of restraint on my part. 🙂

    June 17, 2011 at 9:29 AM

    • LOL! I had a hard time getting them all at the same time. They trickled in. I think it’s cause there’s 12 of them!

      June 17, 2011 at 10:19 AM

  5. Pingback: China Glaze Anchors Away Collection « kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

