things that Kitty likes

OPI Nice Stems! Swatches

Just got this in the mail recently. Overall, I like this set of 4 better than Femme de Cirque with the exception of the glitter top coat shade (mostly because nudes doesn’t do much for me). That, I prefer to be in a clear base like I Juggle…Men. Without further ado, here are the OPI Nice Stems! Collection swatches.

First up is Play With Peonies.

OPI Play The Peonies

Play With Peonies is a delicate pink shade that has a frosty finish. You know what it means when I saw frost, yes….brush strokes! So out of all 4 shades in this collection, I liked this one the least. The color itself is fine, but the finish is not something I have ever liked and that’s just a personal preference. It looked better with the top coat on; it covers the evidence of the brush strokes! :) Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

OPI Play With Peonies (in shade)

OPI Play With Peonies (direct sunlight)

OPI Play With Peonies (close-up)

OPI Play With Peonies with I Lily Love You

Next up is a shade that totally caught me by surprise, Come To Poppy.

OPI Come To Poppy

Come To Poppy is the stunner in this collection. I didn’t think much about it based on the press release pictures here. This is a pinkish coral shade that is packed with shimmer. It seems slightly frosty, but it’s still a shimmer to me. Formula is good and went on my nails smoothly. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

OPI Come To Poppy (in shade)

OPI Come To Poppy (direct sunlight)

OPI Come To Poppy (close-up)

OPI Come To Poppy with I Lily Love You

The one that came short for me is Be A Dahlia Won’t You?

OPI Be A Dahlia Won't You?

Don’t get me wrong, I still love this shade. I was let down slightly only because I thought that this was going to be more opaque than it is based on the press release pictures. This is a fuchsia shimmery shade that reminds me of glass fleck shades. Formula is good and went on my nails smoothly as well. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

OPI Be A Dahlia Won't You? (in shade)

OPI Be A Dahlia Won't You? (direct sunlight)

OPI Be A Dahlia Won't You? (close-up)

OPI Be A Dahlia Won' You? with I Lily Love You

Lastly is the glittery one of the 4, I Lily Love You.

OPI I Lily Love You (in shade)

OPI I Lily Love You (direct sunlight)

OPI I Lily Love You (close-up)

As indicated throughout the post, this shade is very sheer and seems to be meant more as a glitter top coat than anything else. This shade has multicolored round, square and flake glitter in a very light pink jelly base. Don’t let the view of the bottle fool you….it’s pretty sheer. Shown above is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Any shade that interests you?

*Some products in this review may have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

16 responses

  1. Pingback: OPI Nice Stems! Collection « kittypolishnbags

  2. I think I could see OPI’s “Play With Peonies” as a delicate pink shade that has a frosty finish. A color for woman who would use this shade for a wedding, bridal shower, maybe a business meeting if she was dressed in a white jacket and pants. I could also see this on a man who wanted to support the cause of woman’s (or men’s breast cancer if they had the breast cancer logo on his nails, which would look cool.

    I even could myself wearing OPI’s “Come To Poppy,” because it is the stunner in this collection. Love that red shimmer and for someone who loves to wear red on his toenails, LOL a gorgeous color.

    June 3, 2011 at 5:11 PM

    • Come To Poppy definitely shone for me in this collection! Agreed!

      June 3, 2011 at 7:51 PM

      • Why is it the “girly girl colors,” I like the best?, LOL but isn’t all nail polishes marketed for woman no matter what anyone says, you just have to be someone who love his passion and what’s wrong with that. Thanks for the response back…

        Love,

        Mc Huggs :)

        June 3, 2011 at 8:06 PM

  3. I didn’t get any of these but I do say, they are girly girl in a cute way.

    June 3, 2011 at 5:34 PM

    • Very girly! I think OPI did well with the theme. The Circus one was iffy, LOL!

      June 3, 2011 at 7:52 PM

  4. I like the glitter! I originally wasn’t that excited but I like that the glitter is square.

    June 3, 2011 at 5:39 PM

    • Yes! There’s square glitter in it, which I did not expect. I’m glad the flakes in it aren’t as big as Color Club’s Drenched In Diamonds. That would’ve been another nightmare to apply!

      June 3, 2011 at 7:53 PM

  5. I like I lily love you the best. The 2 fushia’s seems very close to one another. If you layer SV over play with peonies will that level out the brush strokes?

    June 3, 2011 at 6:28 PM

    • Not sure, but will try. I didn’t use top coat with these and you’re right….top coats even it out more.

      June 3, 2011 at 7:53 PM

  6. I love Come To Poppy even though I feel like I have a million colors like that already. I think I’ll pass on this collection, though. Not unique enough for me.

    June 3, 2011 at 7:07 PM

    • It isn’t that unique, I agree. I did like this better than the Circus one, but this is nothing like the Serena Williams Glam Slam! shades. Hope the swatches helped!

      June 3, 2011 at 7:54 PM

  7. Thanks for the swatches! Like I did with Femme du Cirque, I expect I’ll only be getting the topcoat from this one–the square glitter makes it different from other similar ones in my collection.

    June 6, 2011 at 8:49 AM

    • It’s definitely better as a top coat glitter! It’s a cross between something and Color Club’s Covered In Diamonds (just smaller flake pices instead of gigantic ones). Glad the swatches helped ya!

      June 6, 2011 at 9:19 AM

  8. Loved this post, and your pictures are absolutely flawless. Love <3

    June 6, 2012 at 1:04 AM

Leave a Reply

