things that Kitty likes

Orly Pinup Swatches

I finally was able to swatch these beauties. I didn’t have uber high hopes for these, as I didn’t want to be disappointed when I do end up swatching them. They turned out better than I expected. A thumbs up from me for Orly! Here are swatches for the 4 shades in their summer offering, the Pinup Collection.

First up, we have Coquette Cutie.

Orly Coquette Cutie

Orly Coquette Cutie

I find the name so dainty. This coral creme didn’t do much for me compared to the other shades in this collection. I found the other shades more interesting, but this is a pretty one nonetheless. Formula is good. It went on smoothly onto my nails. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Orly Coquette Cutie (in shade)

Orly Coquette Cutie (in shade)

Orly Coquette Cutie (lighting changed)

Orly Coquette Cutie (lighting changed)

Orly Coquette Cutie (direct sunlight)

Orly Coquette Cutie (direct sunlight)

OrlyCoquette Cutie (close-up)

Orly Coquette Cutie (close-up)

Next up is Here Comes Trouble.

Orly Here Comes Trouble

Orly Here Comes Trouble

A beautiful green glitter shade, I don’t have much to complain about this one. This shade is made up of regular small square and larger sized hex green glitter in a light green base, almost yellow-green actually. You can use this as a glitter top coat but the glitter is pretty packed, so I prefer to use it as it is. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Orly Here Comes Trouble (in shade)

Orly Here Comes Trouble (in shade)

Orly Here Comes Trouble (direct sunlight)

Orly Here Comes Trouble (direct sunlight)

Orly Here Comes Trouble (close-up)

Orly Here Comes Trouble (close-up)

Next up is a bright one that is aptly named Va Va Voom.

Orly Va Va Voom

Orly Va Va Voom

Can you just say BRIGHT?! Wow! I am blown away by how bright this pink neon creme shade is! Certainly exceeded my expectations. Formula is a dream to work with and it dries on the matte side like most neon shades do. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Orly Va Va Voom (in shade)

Orly Va Va Voom (in shade)

Orly Va Va Voom (direct sunlight)

Orly Va Va Voom (direct sunlight)

Orly Va Va Voom (close-up)

Orly Va Va Voom (close-up)

Orly Va Va Voom (see how bright it is?!)

Orly Va Va Voom (see how bright it is?!)

Last one is another glitter shade called Bubbly Bombshell.

Orly Bubbly Bombshell

Orly Bubbly Bombshell

Bubbly Bombshell is made up of regular purple square glitter and larger hex glitter in a clear base. I adore this shade! You can use it as a glitter top coat too, but the glitter is pretty packed just like Here Comes trouble. I prefer it alone really. Formula was great for a glitter shade. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Orly Bubbly Bombshell (in shade)

Orly Bubbly Bombshell (in shade)

Orly Bubbly Bombshell (lighting changed)

Orly Bubbly Bombshell (lighting changed)

Orly Bubbly Bombshell (close-up)

Orly Bubbly Bombshell (close-up)

The Pinup Collection is currently available at orlybeauty.com, Sally Beauty, Ulta and other purveyors of beauty throughout the U.S. and in over 70 countries worldwide.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

11 responses

  1. Kia

    I’ve been looking forward to this collection, and now I think I like Here comes trouble, best. I just hope they will come to Norway…

    May 25, 2011 at 12:30 PM

  2. I have the glitters…you are making me want the cremes 🙂

    May 25, 2011 at 1:12 PM

    • That neon pink one is bright as heck, just FYI. Even in pictures….I have to look away after staring at it for a bit.

      May 25, 2011 at 5:22 PM

  3. Jen

    Ooooo! I NEED Here Comes Trouble and Bubbly Bombshell. I knew I wanted HCT but your swatches sold me on Bubbly.

    May 25, 2011 at 9:49 PM

  4. I grabbed both glitters as soon as I could but so far am holding strong against the cremes. I was surprised that I liked the green glitter better than the purple–usually anything purple is my favorite. I think it has to do with the base color compared to the glitter–the green seems to have more depth to it.

    May 26, 2011 at 9:26 AM

    • I love both glitters eually just about, but the one surprise is the neon pink! YOWZA!

      May 26, 2011 at 10:56 AM

  5. Pingback: Orly Pinup Collection « kittypolishnbags

  6. Oooh, love the glitters! Thanks for the swatches!

    May 26, 2011 at 7:38 PM

Leave a Reply

