things that Kitty likes

Milani Liquif’Eye Metallic Eye Liner Pencil

Today’s post is about one of my favorite makeup items that is not nail polish. 🙂 Aside from nail polish, I have a deep love for eye liner, mascara and certain lip products. With that said, I have been passively looking for my “holy grail” beauty products and thought I had found it for eye liner when I stumbled on Urban Decay’s 24/7 Glide-On eye pencil eye liner. They come in a wide variety of colors and are waterproof. Really? Sign me up! I was gifted a full set of minis (9 shades) and another set of a medium length size of 5 shades. I started using them but found that they didn’t apply in a creamy fashion on my lash line. I found the eye liner seem to require a firmer hand in application than I would like, so I didn’t use them much after that.

A few months later, I stumbled upon a pencil eye liner from Rimmel. It came free with the waterproof mascara I was purchasing. As soon as I used it, I was in love! It was a bittersweet moment as I thought about my Urban Decay 24/7 eye liner and how they were more expensive than this awesome drugstore brand product. Even though it wasn’t waterproof, I compared it side by side with the Urban Decay one (in black) and Rimmel gave me a darker result. It required less pressure in application for the look I want.

I was recently given the chance to try Milani’s Liquif’Eye eye liner and all I can say is WOW!

Milani Liquif'Eye Eye Liner

Milani Liquif'Eye Eye Liner (closer shot to show shade names)

These are described as “an extremely smooth pencil with the application and feel of a liquid liner that delivers true color payoff in a metallic finish with a long-lasting wear” on the back of their packaging. They applied on smoothly and gives the slick, sophisticated look of liquid eye liner. I am not kidding! The wear is very impressive for my expectations of the product. It lasted a good 8 hours, my whole work day! Now of course, it isn’t as vibrant as it was when I started the day with it. I checked once in the middle of the day, during lunch. The wear was minimal. As the day goes on, we all know how the oil production on our faces go. I suspect most of the wear is attributed to that. But yeah, I swatched all the shades that I know of that Milani has available for sale currently along with my Urban Decay 24/7s. The only one I don’t have a close match from Urban Decay is the silver. The first one includes a swatch of the Rimmel eye liner I have (Rimmel leftmost, UD in the middle and Milani on the right). Milani is the rightmost one in all swatches.

Rimmel, Urban Decay 24/7 & Milani Liquif'Eye Eye Lliner Swatches

Rimmel, Urban Decay 24/7 & Milani Liquif'Eye Eye Liner Swatches (changed lighting)

You notice that Milani swatches are darker or more pigmented. It is finer too in the case of the last 3 shades. You can probably tell in the product pictures that the last 3 shades differ from the first 5. It gives a finer application and it is supposed to propel automatically. Cool! However, I prefer how the first 5 applies. I feel like I don’t need to use as much pressure with those. They glided on so easily. I pranced around with these colorful lines on my arm for the world to see. Thankfully, no one thought it was weird enough to say something or give me funny looks (that I know of at least!).

Here it is after a few hours and me intentionally smudging it by running my pointing finger over it vigorously.

Rimmel, Urban Decay 24/7 & Milani Liquif'Eye Eye Lliner Swatches (rub and wear test)

You can see the evidence. Milani swatches are darker than Urban Decay still, so it’s telling me that the lasting power is the same (since the Milani swatches were darker when we started this), if not better, when compared to Urban Decay. And here is the day after shot.

Rimmel, Urban Decay 24/7 & Milani Liquif'Eye Eye Liner Swatches (day after AFTER the rub and wear test)

Yes, I fell asleep that day and woke up to that. Hands down, I found my “holy grail” for eye liner. Milani, this is a winner.

Shades from this collection should be available in drugstores nationwide. Also check other known Milani retailers.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

10 responses

  1. I’m fond of liners I don’t have to sharpen, since that’s one less item to pack in my gym or travel bag. These look nice, though.

    I tagged you with an award, hope it’s okay to leave the link here:

    http://thekarend.blogspot.com/2011/05/kreativ-with-k.html

    May 11, 2011 at 1:59 PM

    • I’m a fan of those that I don’t have to sharpen either! That’s what the last 3 is like in the 8 I have. I’m not sure if they’ve changed the first 5 to do that as well, but they should!

      Thanks for the award!

      May 11, 2011 at 4:34 PM

  2. Ooh, I’ve been dying to try these out! Too bad the Target and CVS locations near me only have black and brown. Next time there’s a cherryculture coupon or something I am so buying! Thanks for the review!

    May 11, 2011 at 7:48 PM

    • You’re welcome! Let me know if the automatic propel ones work well for you.

      May 12, 2011 at 9:37 AM

  3. what would you recommend for the best black liner for the water line?!

    May 14, 2011 at 4:56 PM

  4. Pingback: Jordana Metal Rocks Retractable Eye Liner Pencil « kittypolishnbags

  5. Pingback: Laura Geller I-Care Waterproof Eyeliner | kittypolishnbags

  6. Pingback: Jordana 12 HR Made To Last Liquid Eyeliner Pencil | kittypolishnbags

  7. Pingback: Milani Liquid Eye Liquid-Like Eye Liner Pencil | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

