things that Kitty likes

Mattese Elite Sugar-Kissed Foils Swatches

I have never been a huge fan of foils. I thought most foils sport that foil wrap look that’s used in cooking. Well, this particular collection changed my mind. I’m so glad I won one of them on Twitter too! It pays to follow the brands you love sometimes, eh? So enough dragging on, here are the swatches for Mattese Elite’s Sugar-Kissed Foils Collection.

First up is Macadamia Mosaic.

Mattese Elite Macadamia Mosaic

This cool green shade is quite an eye-catcher. I love how it’s not too dark. I don’t have anything quite like it. A keeper in my book for sure.

Mattese Elite Macadamia Mosaic (in shade)

Mattese Elite Macadamia Mosaic (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Macadamia Mosaic (close-up)

Next up is the shade I won on the Twitter contest, Truffle Cream.

Mattese Elite Truffle Cream

What a lovely surprise! I didn’t think there was anything special with this shade (mostly because I don’t own any foils), but I’m glad I have this. A lovely bronze-y foil shade that will surely complement a lot of outfits you wear. Some may think this shade won’t fit summer and I beg to differ.

Mattese Elite Truffle Cream (in shade)

Mattese Elite Truffle Cream (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Truffle Cream (close-up)

Next shade is my favorite of the bunch, Strawberry Truffles.

Mattese Elite Strawberry Truffles

What a delightful shade this is! It’s a very pretty deep pink foil. It’s a fun, flirty shade.

Mattese Elite Strawberry Truffles (in shade)

Mattese Elite Strawberry Truffles (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Strawberry Truffles (close-up)

Mattese Elite Strawberry Truffles (lighting changed)

A shade that photographed nicely is called Midnight Swirl.

Mattese Elite Midnight Swirl

This is the blue among the 6 shades in the collection. Midnight Swirl, just like Macadamia Mosaic, isn’t too dark at all. Too dark and it would make me think of 4th of July, so this is a well-balanced shade.

Mattese Elite Midnight Swirl (in shade)

Mattese Elite Midnight Swirl (lighting changed)

Mattese Elite Midnight Swirl (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Midnight Swirl (close-up)

Last shade I have on hand is called Raspberry Star.

Mattese Elite Raspberry Star

Raspberry Star is the lighter version of Strawberry Truffles. A welcome addition to my collection nonetheless. It leans towards the lighter side just like Macadamia Mosaic and Midnight Swirl.

Mattese Elite Raspberry Stay (in shade)

Mattese Elite Raspberry Stay (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Raspberry Stay (close-up)

I am missing one shade from this collection, Golden Peeps. It has such a cute name too. 😦

Formula is consistent for all the shades I’ve tried and get this…..they’re all one coaters. Yep! Go back and look at my swatch pictures. They’re all just one smooth coat with no top coat. You can use 2 coats if you wish, but they’re pretty good with one coat as shown. Neat, huh? Drying time is speedy. I was up and about in no time. No dings or scratches (but I wasn’t too violent with my hands either).

You can score any of these beauties directly on their webpage or if you live in the wonderful state of New York, you can stop by at any Ricky’s NYC store locations (see here) and see this and other shades for yourself before you buy. Mattese Elite shades retails for $5.99 each before tax.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

12 responses

  1. I really like the green! The rest I’m on the fence about, I don’t really care for foil finishes so that’s probably why!

    May 3, 2011 at 3:19 PM

    • I don’t either until now. The foils I’ve tried before are….let’s just leave it at that. 😦

      May 3, 2011 at 5:36 PM

  2. I’m digging the Raspberry one (Star? Stay?). May have to venture out to go find it.

    May 3, 2011 at 5:04 PM

    • A pretty one! My favorite is the darker version of that one.

      May 3, 2011 at 5:37 PM

  3. I love a good foil. As a matter of fact the first things I really frankened (well) imo was a set of 5 foils. CONGRATS on your win and these are awesome and ONE coaters too. You really won every which way with this collection. 🙂

    May 3, 2011 at 5:27 PM

  4. Jen

    These are all pretty but I’m in love with the first one!

    May 3, 2011 at 9:23 PM

    • I was nervois about application cause you can see how it looks in the bottle. None of the others leave the trailing line the silver balls did. But it’s all good. 🙂

      May 4, 2011 at 9:46 AM

  5. I love foils, so of course I love all of these! Strawberry Truffles reminds me of Diamond Cosmetics Sparkling Sherry.

    May 4, 2011 at 3:08 AM

    • Ooooh, I don’t have that one. I better go check it out!

      May 4, 2011 at 9:46 AM

  6. Some of these are really calling to me–so pretty! I tend to not get good wear from foils but I like them anyway.

    May 4, 2011 at 2:08 PM

    • I’ll take note of wear when I actually sport it on for a mani and not just a swatch next time. 😀

      May 4, 2011 at 2:15 PM

Leave a Reply

