things that Kitty likes

Diamond Cosmetics Caribbean Cruise Swatches

Today, I have Diamond Cosmetics’ Summer 2011 offering titled Caribbean Cruise Collection! I wasn’t sure what to expect from them this time at first but I can definitely tell you now, for me, it did NOT disappoint!

“Play in the sand with this fun, flirtatious pink” describes the first of 5 shades in this collection well, Sex On The Beach.

Diamond Cosmetics Sex On The Beach

This pretty pink shade represents a good balance between delicate and bright. It’s fun, flirty and definitely perfect for summer. This one applied smoothly on my nails. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Diamond Cosmetics Sex On The Beach (in shade)

Diamond Cosmetics Sex On The Beach (direct sunlight)

Diamond Cosmetics Sex On The Beach (another shot)

Diamond Cosmetics Sex On The Beach (close-up)

Creole Splash is up next, being described with “this playful polish will have all the hunks calling you baby.”

Diamond Cosmetics Creole Splash

I absolutely adore this shade! The shade makes me think of other shades such as Hard Candy Sky, China Glaze For Audrey and such. This one applied on my nails very smoothly. This can be a one coater if you apply a thicker coat. With my first coat, I can barely see my nail line. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Diamond Cosmetics Creole Splash (in shade)

Diamond Cosmetics Creole Splash (direct sunlight)

Diamond Cosmetics Creole Splash (close-up)

“Sip on your drink and party in style with this Tropical staple”, Bahama Mama.

Diamond Cosmetics Bahama Mama

Continuing on with the cocktail drinks theme, Bahama Mama is a pretty coral pink creme that definitely makes me think of the tropics. Formula is smooth and nice. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Diamond Cosmetics Bahama Mama (in shade)

Diamond Cosmetics Bahama Mama (lighting changed)

Diamond Cosmetics Bahama Mama (direct sunlight)

Diamond Cosmetics Bahama Mama (close-up)

Diamond Cosmetics Bahama Mama (last shot)

“Make an impression as large as the sea with this magical blue that glitters like the deep ocean” captures Deep Blue Sea perfectly.

Diamond Cosmetics Deep Blue Sea

Wow. That’s pretty much what went on in my mind over and over again when I put this on. I was hopeful that it is close to Essie’s Starry Starry Night, but I don’t think so based on the swatches I’ve seen online. I could be wrong though and being wrong in this case would be sweet! The glitter in this one reminds me of those glass flecked shades. This one applied nicely and dried fast on my nails. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Diamond Cosmetics Deep Blue Sea (in shade)

Diamond Cosmetics Deep Blue Sea (lighting changed)

Diamond Cosmetics Deep Blue Sea (direct sunlight)

Diamond Cosmetics Deep Blue Sea (close-up)

“Sun bathe in style with this subtle and elegant gold fit for a Grecian goddess” describes the last shade in this collection, Soak Up The Sun.

Diamond Cosmetics Soak Up The Sun

This shade is the most uninteresting one for me personally out of all 5. I feel like I’ve seen this shade before many times. In addition to that, this one is prone to brush strokes. I was fortunate enough that it applied pretty well for me even with the brush stroke symptoms. I would describe this shade as a gold shimmery frost. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Diamond Cosmetics Soak Up The Sun (direct sunlight)

Diamond Cosmetics Soak Up The Sun (close-up)

Overall? I love this collection. This has left me more satisfied than their Spring Collection, Stroke Of Luck. I was a bit bummed they only had 3 shades in that one, even though it was pretty well-rounded. Formula for every single shade in this collection is pretty consistent, especially the creme shades. Even the one I anticipated to give me problems the most because of brush strokes, Soak Up The Sun, behaved nicely during application.

This collection will be out on their website on May 2, 2011. Which shades will you be grabbing?

I’ll take this time too to remind everyone to push their cuticles back instead of resorting to the evil clippers to get rid of them. You can see it more in some of the pictures than others the state of my cuticle. I had a cut on one side. NOT GOOD! Lesson learned….until the next time I decide to be impatient and suffer the consequence again. It’s not only because of the fact that you can get a cut there and it doesn’t look good, but any microscopic cut and tears gives room for bacteria to fill in and inflame the area. Mine has healed and thank goodness I did not get an infection from it. So push those cuticles back! 🙂

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

2 responses

  1. Those two blues are to die for. And I really love the shimmer in Soak up the Sun. 🙂

    April 27, 2011 at 10:56 AM

    • I could’ve swear I’ve seen the shimmer in Soak Up The Sun before in a Spring Collection or two, but I can’t remember which ones!

      The blues are definitely the ones to have. I am thrilled with the formula of all of these shades!

      April 27, 2011 at 11:09 AM