things that Kitty likes

Orly Precious Swatches

Got some swatches for you guys today. 4 out of 6 ain’t bad. I managed to score Royal Velvet at my local Sally Beauty Supply. I spotted the collection display at ULTA too last night on a polish run for a swap.

Precious
ORLY Spring 2011 Collection

Luxurious, Sophisticated Hues to Covet

For centuries, people around the globe have been enamored with lush fabrics, rare stones and extravagant finishes. ORLY celebrates the refined glamour of porcelain, the vibrant sheen of silk, and the lush sparkle of priceless gems with Precious. Lend a sense of romance and richness to every spring ensemble by sporting lavish shades on fingertips and toes. The six lacquers in the Precious Collection signal a fresh approach to spring fashion and a renewed appreciation for the exotic workmanship, ornamental engravings, and sumptuous fabrics known to accompany the luxe life.

The six Lacquers in the Precious Collection include:

Pure Porcelain: Beige Crème

Orly Pure Porcelain

This one’s a creamy creme shade. A perfect shade to sport without any worries at work. I accidentally dinged it at some point, but didn’t notice until posting. 😦 Sorry guys. Formula didn’t give me problems at all. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Orly Pure Porcelain (in shade)

Orly Pure Porcelain (direct sunlight)

Orly Pure Porcelain (close-up)

Gilded Coral: Coral Gold Shimmer

Orly Gilded Coral

This one took me ny surprise. I love it. It looks a little different each time in different lighting. A sure hit when I polish my co-worker/friends’ nails next Tuesday. I think they’ll love this one. Perfect light, shimmery shade. Can be brush stroke-y, but not a deal breaker for me. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Orly Gilded Coral (in shade)

Orly Gilded Coral (lighting changed)

Orly Gilded Coral (direct sunlight)

Orly Gilded Coral (lighting changed again)

Orly Gilded Coral (close-up)

Orly Gilded Coral (lighting changed)

Orly Gilded Coral (and again)

Fancy Fuchsia: Pink Crème

Orly Fancy Fuchsia

I didn’t think I’ll like this one. I tend to like creme shades the least, but my palate have been changing the past few months. I’ve grown to love cremes and this is no exception. Glided smoothly onto my nails, this one dried pretty fast. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Orly Fancy Fuchsia (in shade)

Orly Fancy Fuchsia (lighting changed)

Orly Fancy Fuchsia (direct sunlight)

Orly Fancy Fuchsia (close-up)

Orly Fancy Fuchsia (last shot)

Ancient Jade: Green Crème

Orly Ancient Jade

Sapphire Silk: Deep Teal Crème

Orly Ancient Jade

Royal Velvet: Purple Blue Shimmer

Orly Royal Velvet

Undoubtedly the most popular of the 6 shades, Royal Velvet came up a bit short for me. This is partly my fault, as I expected it to be more opaque for some reason. Initial reviews? Initial swatches? I don’t know for sure anymore. But all is not lost. I have grown to love this shade even though I still wish it was more opaque. Shimmer is gorgeous. It makes me think of space and universe and all that. This one can show brush strokes as well during application. Shown is 2 generous coats with no top coat.

Orly Royal Velvet (in shade)

Orly Royal Velvet (lighting changed)

Orly Royal Velvet (and again)

Orly Royal Velvet (direct sunlight)

Orly Royal Velvet (close-up)

All ORLY Nail Lacquers including the Precious Collection are free of DBP, Toluene and all traces of Formaldehyde and Formaldehyde Resin.

The Precious Collection Lacquers will be available starting March 2011 for $7.50 each. ORLY Nail Lacquers and Treatment products are available at orlybeauty.com, Sally Beauty, Ulta and other purveyors of beauty throughout the U.S. and in over 70 countries worldwide.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

7 responses

  1. The only one I wanted originally was the Royal Velvet. I’m digging the fuchsia though.

    I could probably get my paws on the two you’re missing if you wanted?

    April 22, 2011 at 4:28 PM

    • I’m going to check them at my other Sallys. This one just didn’t have it. Looks like Ancient Jade was a hot one too. I’m surprised I managed to get Royal Velvet.

      If I can’t get them, I’ll let ya know! ❤

      April 22, 2011 at 6:09 PM

  2. Thanks for the swatches, I really like Royal Velvet which I just ordered 😀
    But forgot to add sapphire silk- d’oh. Oh well, there’s always a next time 😛

    April 23, 2011 at 12:08 PM

    • I got lucky I foudn that at the store. I keep hearing about it!

      April 23, 2011 at 12:46 PM

  3. That royal velvet is amazing looking! But I like the gilden coral.

    April 24, 2011 at 1:13 AM

  4. Pingback: Sally Hansen Azure | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

