things that Kitty likes

China Glaze Island Escape Swatches

All the nail polish companies are rolling out their Summer Collections now. One that I got really excited about is China Glaze’s Island Escape Collection. It just might be the best one out there for summer. We’ll have to wait and see I guess. For now, I have swatches for you guys! And as usual, in the order they are displayed in the press release pictures.

First up is Papaya Punch.

China Glaze Papaya Punch

What a juicy shade! Papaya punch is a bright orange creme. It’s an attention-grabbing shade for sure! This is one of the best orange creme shades I’ve seen. Most orange cremes I’ve seen has a darkness to it, making it look murky. Application was a dream for me on this one, unlike its yellow sibling Electric Pineapple. Being that this is a creme shade, I opted to go for a more generous coat than the usual thin coats I use. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Papaya Punch (in shade)

China Glaze Papaya Punch (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Papaya Punch (lighting changed)

China Glaze Papaya Punch (close-up)

 Next up is my favorite in this entire set, 108 Degrees.

China Glaze 108 Degrees

The description given of “flirtatious berry pink with specks of micro glitter” is spot on. This shade is soooooooo pretty! The finish reminds me of the glass flecks China Glaze produced for their Summer Days Collection in 2009. Formula was nice and smooth. I resorted to using 2 thin coats with no top coat for this one. I was relatively satisfied with that much coverage. For a more opaque look, add another coat or apply thicker coats.

China Glaze 108 Degrees (in shade)

China Glaze 108 Degrees (direct sunlight)

 

China Glaze 108 Degrees (close-up)

And just because this is my favorite shade from the whole collection, another shot.

China Glaze 108 Degrees (last shot)

Next up is another fun glass flecked shade called Senorita Bonita.

China Glaze Senorita Bonita

This one’s described as a “passionate purple shimmer with pink micro glitter” and wow, this one blew me away. The part that intrigued me the most was the pink micro glitter part. That explains why I keep thinking to myself this shade looks like it has flakies instead of just being purely a glass flecked shade. It is so pretty. I think China Glaze should release a whole line with different colored micro glitters! Formula for this is a bit on the thin side. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Senorita Bonita (in shade)

China Glaze Senorita Bonita (lighting changed)

China Glaze Senorita Bonita (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Senorita Bonita (close-up)

 Next is a shade I was really excited about when I saw the press release pictures. Here is Blue Iguana.

China Glaze Blue Iguana

This one is so pretty in the bottle, but it falls a bit short when applied onto my nails. I feel that this is the sheerest one among all 6 shades. I didn’t even bother trying to use more coats and stuck with 2 coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Blue Iguana (in shade)

China Glaze Blue Iguana (lighting changed)

China Glaze Blue Iguana (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Blue Iguana (close-up)

China Glaze Blue Iguana (last shot)

The green in this bunch is a fun shade called Cha Cha Cha.

China Glaze Cha Cha Cha

This shade is pretty sheer too, but definitely more opaque than Blue Iguana. This is described as a “vivacious shimmer green” and I say it’s pretty accurate. The yellow-ish shimmer in this is nice, but it’s not a shade that is new to me or out of the ordinary. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze Cha Cha Cha (in shade)

Chian Glaze Cha Cha Cha (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Cha Cha Cha (close-up)

 The last shade in this collection is called Electric Pineapple.

China Glaze Electric Pineapple

Described as “high intensity creme based lime green”, I am happy to report that this shade is nothing like the dull highlighter yellow I’ve seen in my lifetime. This shade is a bit more green than yellow overall. On my nails, it’s definitely classified as a yellow in my opinion. Formula was streaky on this one, so I used 3 coats with no top coat. It evened out nicely with that.

China Glaze Electric Pineapple (in shade)

China Glaze Electric Pineapple (direct sunlight)

China Glaze Electric Pineapple (close-up)

China Glaze Electric Pineapple (lighting changed)

Overall, a pretty good collection. I loved the glass flecked shades a lot. Some shades came short a bit and some totally impressed me. Formula for the most part is good, a bit on the thin side for some. I’ve always had trouble with creme applications with the exception of a few shades, so I can’t fault China Glaze for that. I started swatching with Electric Pineapple, thinking that I would progress from shades that would stain the least and onwards. A slight mistake on my part as Electric Pineapple stained my cuticles pretty good and you can see that in swatches for the other shades. Still, I can’t stay made at it. Just look at all 6 shades. What’s not to love?

Which shades will you be picking up?

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

13 responses

  1. Thanks for the swatches! Do you know how Cha Cha Cha compares to Zoya Midori?

    April 15, 2011 at 1:08 PM

    • Unfortunately, I don’t have that one. 😦 I used to have it though. I wanted to say Cha Cha Cha is a bit darker, but I can’t be sure. Sorry!

      April 15, 2011 at 1:18 PM

  2. Pingback: China Glaze Island Escape Collection « kittypolishnbags

  3. You have made me want them all, save for the Pineapple. lol Your photos are DA BOMB!! I can see the sparkles and flecks of color very nicely.

    April 15, 2011 at 4:50 PM

    • Thanks for saying that girl! It means a lot to me. I try the best I can. 🙂

      April 15, 2011 at 11:20 PM

  4. Wow. Lovely swatches. The way you show off this collection it makes me much more interested than I originally was.

    April 15, 2011 at 6:13 PM

    • Really? 🙂 Thanks! I just hope my swatches helps others decide!

      April 15, 2011 at 11:19 PM

  5. Thanks so much for these swatches, they’re awesome 🙂 I like this collection more everytime I see it ❤

    x

    April 16, 2011 at 5:04 AM

  6. These are bright and pretty but for some reason they’re not really grabbing me. I’m most intrigued by the Pineapple one. Maybe once we actually get spring here I’ll be in a better mood about things. 🙂

    April 16, 2011 at 9:28 AM

    • It’s funny that you said that. Most people that I have conversed with did not like Electric Pineapple! This collection has something for everybody!

      April 16, 2011 at 12:52 PM

  7. I happy you posted such great pictures becuase now they look a little like previous colors… The only one I am excited about is now electric pineapple, which I didn’t like before but your picture looks great!

    April 16, 2011 at 2:40 PM

    • Thanks girl! Just glad my pics are useful for others! 🙂

      April 16, 2011 at 9:37 PM

Leave a Reply

