things that Kitty likes

Sally Hansen Spring 2011 Prabal Gurung Collection Swatches

I have another Spring Collection for you guys today! This collection is Prabal Gurung for Sally Hansen Spring 2011. Some of these shades have been spotted at the runway last year. I will feature the shades according to the press release group photo in the earlier post I have about it. Please note that I only have 5 of the 6 shades from this collection. I am missing the last one called Without A Stitch. Also, pelase excuse the state of my cuticles. The drastic change in weather is taking a toll on them.

First up is Paparazzi.

Sally Hansen Paparazzi

Described as a metallic taupe, Paparazzi is a gray frosty metallic shade. This was the one I liked least because of its finish. Anyone that knows me is very aware of my dislike of frosts. This one didn’t give me a very hard time at all during application though, which caught me completely by surprise. Brush strokes are visible still, but not bad at all. I didn’t have to redo my nails like I usually would with other frost shades. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Sally Hansen Paparazzi (in shade)

Sally Hansen Paparazzi (changed lighting)

Sally Hansen Paparazzi (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Paparazzi (close-up)

Next shade up is Casting Call.

Sally Hansen Casting Call

This pretty shade is aptly described as a strawberry mango. It’s a pink coral that applied smoothly on my nails. This shade makes me think of all things sweet like ice cream, shakes, icing, and juicy fruits. It’s perfect for both Spring and Summer! Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Sally Hansen Casting Call (in shade)

Sally Hansen Casting Call (lighting changed)

Sally Hansen Casting Call (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Casting Call (close-up)

This next shade took my breath away. Here is Model Behavior.

Sally Hansen Model Behavior

Described as a sky turquoise, Model Behavior is one of my favorites in this collection. This shade of blue makes me smile, even when it’s a creme shade! Cremes do not rank high on my list, but this one is definitely one of my favorites. Formula for this is nice and creamy. It applied on my nails smoothly like butter. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Sally Hansen Model Behavior (in shade)

Sally Hansen Model Behavior (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Model Behavior (close-up)

Next up is my favorite from this collection, Strike A Pose.

Sally Hansen Strike A Pose

This shade is described as an opalescent pearl. All I know is I see a slight duochrome going on! LOVE! Instant love! I think it’s a pinkish lavender duochrome, but I’d love to hear your thoughts on this one. It actually reminds me of a Nubar duochrome shade I’ve seen before on another blog. Formula is a bit watery, but gave me no problems during application. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat. For a more opaque look, use thicker coats or add about 2 more thin coats.

Sally Hansen Strike A Pose (in shade)

Sally Hansen Strike A Pose (see the slight duochrome?)

Sally Hansen Strike A Pose (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Strike A Pose (close-up)

And just cause this is my favorite shade in this collection, here’s a few more swatch pictures in an attempt to show the slight duochrome.

Sally Hansen Strike A Pose (simply stunning)

Sally Hansen Strike A Pose (another angle)

Sally Hansen Strike A Pose (hello, duochrome!)

Last shade I have is a bold red. What kind of collection would it be without a red, right? Here is Runway Red-y.

Sally Hansen Runway Red-y

The description of this shade, apple red, is spot on! I feel like biting into a juicy red apply seeing this shade. It’s a bold red creme that is classic and sleek. Formula for this is buttery smooth. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Sally Hansen Runway Red-y (in shade)

Sally Hansen Runway Red-y (different lighting)

Sally Hansen Runway Red-y (bold apple red!)

Sally Hansen Runway Red-y (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Runway Red-y (close-up)

Again, I don’t have the last shade called Without A Stitch. Which ones of these will you be getting when it hits stores in May? The original anticipated release of this was in March, but I was told these will be in retail stores by May.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

15 responses

  1. What I really love about your web blog swatches, besides your perfect polished nails, are that they are so BIG and Bold, really showing what the nail polish looks like in real life. Take Sally Hansen Paparazzi, the Grey metallic frost, you show the unique bottle, both what the nail polish looks like in shade and throughout until in direct sunlight. Why? Because most woman wear their nail colors all day and want to see what they would look like in different lights, just like when they wear their cosmetics. Here you do just that.

    No one else, I know of does that! I love SH “Casting Call,” the lovely strawberry mango ice cream, parfait shade, again what it looks like in shade and direct sunlight, what a dreamy color for a woman to wear on a hot date for a picnic, her guy would go wild!

    The you have my favorite as well, SH, “Model Behavior,” that lovely blue creme, in the shade it’s lovely and more sensational in the sunlight. SH’s, “Strike a Pose,” reminds me of the past Madonna’s song and music vidoe, “Vogue”, LOL and this would make a perfect French Manicure color for a bride, or a bridesmaid or to a wedding shower…finally there is the Bold Red of “Run-Away,” which I can imagine a young girl in love, running away from her fiancee at the last minute to meet her secret and true lover, wearing her favorite gorgeous red color on her nails in her new red dress and heels; What a story you tell on your web blog and in your swatches!
    Love it,
    Mc Huggs 🙂

    April 3, 2011 at 11:26 AM

    • Thank you so much for your kind words! My goal when I started this blog is to show swatches in a few different lighting and a huge close-up of it to help everyone figure out if it will work for them or not. 🙂

      April 3, 2011 at 11:52 AM

  2. The only one I love is the bright red. But then again, I can’t resist a red.

    (Mc Huggs is right, your blog is great <3)

    April 3, 2011 at 1:17 PM

    • Awww, thank you so much for that comment Nat! I truly appreciate it. It’s people like you that keeps me going. 🙂

      April 3, 2011 at 2:31 PM

  3. What an interesting collection. The red is a cherry red and that’s the type I love. The blue creme?!!! Gor-e-jus!!!!

    April 3, 2011 at 2:43 PM

    • Wait ’til you see the one in Tracy Reese for Sally Hansen one. I can’t decide which blue I like better!

      April 3, 2011 at 3:47 PM

  4. Casting Call is such a beautiful color, need to look for it 🙂 Thank you for sharing these wonderful swatches 🙂

    Xo Christine

    April 4, 2011 at 12:15 AM

  5. Lucky you to get these so early! I’ll be getting the blue for sure when I finally see them in stores.

    April 4, 2011 at 3:11 PM

    • Wait for a few days for the Tracy Reese ones! There is an awesome blue in that set too!

      April 4, 2011 at 11:16 PM

  6. Pingback: Sally Hansen Spring 2011 Tracey Reese Collection Swatches « kittypolishnbags

  7. Pingback: Sally Hansen Spring 2011 Tracy Reese Collection Swatches « kittypolishnbags

  8. Pingback: Sally Hansen Spring 2011 Collections « kittypolishnbags

  9. Wow, amazing weblog format! How long have you been blogging for? you made running a blog glance easy. The overall glance of your web site is fantastic, as well as the content!

    December 3, 2011 at 7:51 PM

  10. Pingback: Sally Hansen Spring 2011 Tracy Reese Collection Swatches | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

