things that Kitty likes

In The Mood Devious

My dear readers! I have a special polish in my collection today to show you. I only have one from this brand so far, but I’m definitely looking forward to getting them all in the near future! We’re all pretty familiar with mood polish, right? I have never purchased any because it never appealed to me much. This beauty completely caught me by surprise and I think I may be a mood polish convert! This is In The Mood’s Devious.

In The Mood Devious

First off, pretty purple shade eh? In the bottle, it’s a beautiful purple shimmer. On the nail, it dries a bit matte. It’s darker than what I would describe a lavender shade to be. Formula goes on very smoothly and dries fast. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

In The Mood Devious (in shade)

In The Mood Devious (direct sunlight)

In The Mood Devious (close-up)

Now, where is the changing of colors you ask. I inquired on what temperature it changes really and was given the reply of 90 degrees. Easy enough! I noticed the color change naturally when in contact with warm water. See pictures below:

In The Mood Devious (in warm water)

In The Mood Devious (look at how pink it is!)

In The Mood Devious (last shot)

Pretty cool ,eh? I think the name of this shade suits it, quite devious indeed! After the initial warm water contact the color on my nail pretty much stayed light pink with dark purple tips. 🙂

I have never heard of it because I have never really tuned on QVC! It comes in 6 shades: Blissful, Curious, Devious, Hyper, Mellow, and Flirty. They are being sold for $8 each on The Mood Polish or $32 as a six-piece set on QVC.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

6 responses

  1. I really like it on you, tough the colors might not be as bright as other mood polishes (i.e. the ones from claire’s), they surely are fun 😮

    March 5, 2011 at 10:53 AM

    • When I saw it change in the shower, that’s when the color change really showed up. I was tickled pink…..literally!

      March 5, 2011 at 8:49 PM

  2. I have had their website bookmarked for about a year but never ordered from them. I have only ever bought color changing polish from Claire’s at the mall. Does this brand last for a decent amount of time of chip easily? If it chips I will just stick with the inexpensive mall stuff but if it lasts I might actually order it. Also since it is matte did you try a topcoat and if so does the color change still happen?

    March 6, 2011 at 12:55 PM

    • Hi there! I did not try a top coat over it. I wanted the full color change effect, so I never did it. I’ve never tried Claire’s polishes, so I really can’t compare to that.

      I don’t leave polish on for long, as I like changing up colors. This shade did stay on my nails with no chips whatsoever for 3 days. I did everything including washing dishes and carrying stuff. I was nervous that it would chip when showering. No such thing though. It held up pretty well for me, so I have no complaints with this. The color change effect is pretty drastic IMO and I was very impressed with that.

      March 6, 2011 at 1:05 PM

  3. Kia

    I have the one called Envy from this collection. It doesn’t change color that much, but is still nice to look at

    March 7, 2011 at 12:09 PM

    • That’s disappointing to hear! It changes color pretty well after I hopped into the shower. It was just purple for the most part then suddenly my digits were all pink. It changes much better after that.

      March 8, 2011 at 12:22 PM

Leave a Reply

