things that Kitty likes

Mattese Elite Russian Mafia

Today is a much better day in terms of weather. The past few weeks have been a flurry of snowstorms and blizzards. The thing I hate the most about bad weather like that is that I can’t drive (well I don’t rather than can’t) because of all the snow and ice. The wind doesn’t help either. Being that I am located in a flat state, wind is pretty much a staple of everyday life here. The shade I have on my nails today cheered me up quite a bit too. I find the name catchy as well, which made me love this shade even more. Here is Mattese Elite’s Russian Mafia.

Mattese Elite Russian Mafia

This spectacular purple shade packs a ton of purple or pink and blue glass fleck shimmer. The glass flecks are still not as packed as the ones from other nail polish brands, but as I’ve mentioned it before, I like it this way. I think too much glass fleck shimmer in this shade would take away from the beauty of the nail color itself. Formula is rich and smooth. Drying time is exceptional and opacity? Drumroll please! This is a one coater! Wow! I could not believe it! I tend to apply several thinner coats and this only needed one relatively thin coat. I’m very impressed.

Mattese Elite Russian Mafia (in shade)

Mattese Elite Russian Mafia (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Russian Mafia (close-up)

See the beautiful glass flecks? Glass fleck shades are one of my favorites.

Mattese Elite Russian Mafia (last shot)

You can score this beauty directly on their webpage or if you live in the wonderful state of New York, you can stop by at any Ricky’s NYC store locations (see here) and see this and other shades for yourself before you buy. Mattese Elite shades retails for $5.99 each before tax.

*Products in this review have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

9 responses

  1. Simply beautiful!

    February 21, 2011 at 10:55 AM

    • I agree! Not too many of this kind out there. Reminds me of Orly FX shades but still different.

      February 21, 2011 at 11:46 AM

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention Mattese Elite Russian Mafia « kittypolishnbags -- Topsy.com

  3. Jamie

    So, it’s an opi russian navy dupe?

    February 21, 2011 at 12:31 PM

  4. The weather here took a turn for the worse–much of the snow had melted, then whoosh, 8 more inches showed up yesterday afternoon & evening. Guess that’s winter in Michigan for you. 🙂

    February 21, 2011 at 1:58 PM

    • No way! It’s getting colder here again but all the snow is gone!

      Stay safe girl! I worry with icy conditions!

      February 21, 2011 at 3:04 PM

  5. Wow, that almost looks exactly like OPI Russian Navy! Except I think the reddish glitter is less pronounced. Really pretty regardless!

    February 21, 2011 at 7:46 PM

Leave a Reply

