things that Kitty likes

Milani Bella Blue Lip Art Saturated Lip Color

Hey guys! I got the chance to test everything but the nail lacquer so far from Milani’s Limited Edition Bella Blue Collection as seen in the press release post here. Today’s post is on the lipstick that boasts to be this bright blue. The name of the shade is the same as the name of the collection, Bella Blue. Here’s Milani Bella Blue Lip Art Saturated Lip Color.

Milani Bella Blue Lip Art Saturated Lip Color

Milani Bella Blue Lip Art Saturated Lip Color Detail

Milani Bella Blue Lip Art Saturated Lip Color Detail (with flash)

Milani Bella Blue Lip Art Saturated Lip Color Detail (another shot)

This is described as:

  • Full-coverage, one-stroke lip color
  • Limited Edition
  • Made in USA

The product packaging is different from all the other lipsticks they have, so I thought there was a 50% chance that it’s not made with the same formulation. I was right. I even compared the ingredient listing online to check it. But I didn’t even need to do that to know this. I can feel it when I applied it onto my lips. It’s slicker than the lipsticks from their Color Statement line and it smells different from those. It has a strange almost chemical lipstick smell that is NOT found with their other lipsticks. I will definitely be trying this in an attempt to “de-scent” this shade. Scent is a very personal thing and while some may not find this scent in any negative light, it doesn’t do it for me. I LOVE the scent of Milani’s lip products and this is the first time it has missed the mark for me in that department. The packaging is different too, but the product is housed in a typical lipstick twist tube. Aside from being slicker when applied on the lips, formula is more sheer. I can get decent coverage with one stroke, but I wouldn’t say it’s full coverage. The color is metallic or frosty in nature and only slightly buildable, but if you’re hoping the color you see in the tube to translate onto the lips then you’re in for disappointment. I tried applying more coats to achieve the color I see in the tube and failed miserably. It got streaky and I ended up almost trying to pat the product already on my lips in place. For this lip color, fewer strokes the better. Swatches shown below is one stroke on the left and 2 strokes on the right.

Milani Bella Blue Lip Art Saturated Lip Color (in shade)

Milani Bella Blue Lip Art Saturated Lip Color (lighting changed)

Milani Bella Blue Lip Art Saturated Lip Color (direct sunlight)

Milani Bella Blue Lip Art Saturated Lip Color (with flash)

I’ve posted on my Instagram account here on what it looks like with several coats for maximum color payoff.

Milani Bella Blue Lip Art Saturated Lip Color IG Post

This retails for $3.99 each and should now be available in select Walgreens, KMart and Fred Meyer stores as well as online on their website.

*Some products in this review may have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

One response

  1. Pingback: Milani Bella Blue Lash Art Colored Mascara | kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

