things that Kitty likes

Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil Light

Hey guys! The bitter cold is finally letting up a bit here in Oklahoma. It was a fun time with the snow and all, but I always prefer the warmer weather. It inhibited mobility too somewhat (not much since my fiancé is the one driving most of the time) and I got the chance to catch up on all my Discovery ID Channel recorded shows. Today’s review is on an item I had pretty high hopes on. Here’s Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil Light.

Josie Maran 100% Pure Argan Oil Light

The product description on the back of the box states the following: “A featherweight version of the world champion of oils, 100% Pure Argan Oil Light moisturizes deeply and absorbs quickly, leaving a semi-matte finish. First cold-pressed to protect its healthy, hydrating properties and ideal for all skin types, especially breakout-prone and sensitive.

How To Use
Use it to moisturize and beautify your face, hair and nails — naturally. Lightweight enough to wear under makeup; use to treat split ends, condition cuticles, soften rough feet and toes.” More details provided on the website about this product are as follows:

“What it is: In this corner: my legendary 100% Pure Argan Oil, featherweight division. This is for those of you who love what argan oil does for your chapped skin, hair, and fine lines, and want a lighter touch for those sticky situations or humid summer days. Fighting oil with oil? It works! My Argan Oil Light absorbs even faster than the original. And it actually decreases sebum production with repeated use (sounds crazy but it’s true). Get a semi-matte, radiant finish, no matter how oily your skin, and toss the blotting papers.

Why I love it: This stuff is no lightweight when it comes to doing everything my original 100% Pure Argan Oil does: hydrating, balancing, repairing, replenishing. It’s just a shade less rich, for quicksilver absorption and a whisper-light feel.

What’s in it: My famous 100% Pure Argan Oil, just a little lighter.

What’s not in it: You won’t find filler oils, fake fragrances, or skin-irritating parabens here.

How I use it: When it’s a furnace outside and I want to glow, not drip, or if my skin’s oilier than usual, I use 100% Pure Argan Oil Light as my base moisturizer. It’s also a great primer—makeup won’t melt, no matter how slick the dewpoint.”

What I love about this product? It comes in a tinted brown glass bottle with a squeeze dropper to dispense just the right amount of product as desired. This prevents from the oil in the bottle from getting contaminated as well. The first 2 days I used it…..it was like I discovered something new and amazing. I liked the product a lot and it definitely kept my face moisturized. I started noticing on day 3 that it was kinda meh. Now, I may have started to get used to the sensation and feel of the oil that the “newness” of the amazing benefits is now gone. But the longer I use it, I begin to see what I failed to in the first few days. The oil kind of sits on my skin rather than absorb as I would’ve liked. It does absorb some, but not much. It does keep my skin moisturized, so it does the job overall still. I guess I just expected a little bit more, especially with my past experiences with other products from this brand and the price point this is going for. With that said, I got this at my local Sephora in a JCPenney store and was actually looking for the original formula and not the light version. No luck. Sadness. I think I would’ve been happier with the regular version, but who knows? I do see that the original formula is still available on their website.

What I don’t like about this product? Like I mentioned, the oil seems to sit more on my face rather than get absorbed. I’ll still keep on using it since I do want to get my money’s worth, but I’d actually purchase the original formula next time as it seems like that would work better for what I’m looking for.

This item retails for $48 and is available on their website as well as other retail locations such as Sephora. To check for other retail locations where products from her line are carried, click here.

2 responses

  1. I love this brand of argan oil and personally find it works best on me – it’s only issue for me is that its a bit hard to find here in Melbourne.

    December 12, 2013 at 9:00 PM

    • I think I’m better off with the original version for my skin, but a lot of other people love the light version too!

      December 16, 2013 at 2:35 PM

Leave a Reply

