things that Kitty likes

Milani Ultrafine Liquid Eye Liner

Today’s post is on Milani Ultrafine Liquid Eye Liner.

Milani Ultrafine Liquid Eye Liner

These are described as:

  • Sparkling intense color
  • Long-lasting
  • Waterproof formula
  • Easy to use
  • Felt-tip applicator

Y’all know that I am not a huge fan of liquid eye liners. I’ve tried many, many brands with different formulas and applicators and it always ends up in disappointment. My main problem is I like to apply eye liner on my waterline. With liquid eye liner, the moment that the eye liner touches any part of the eye really….it just spreads the eye liner all over the eye area. There was a liquid eye liner that I had high hopes for and it was in an awesome silver shade. But no, my eye is covered with a thin layer of silver liquid eye liner. I scrambled to the bathroom to rinse my eye out. I was bracing myself for such an experience again with these. I am happy to report though that this will be the first liquid eye liners that I am keeping to use! The tip is really fine and made application a breeze. I felt that I had more control with the application this time around. The formula is very pigmented with a super opaque payoff. It dries pretty fast and the finish for all shades are sparkly or glittery with the exception of Black Vinyl. All 5 shades are perfect for day or night, but I’d stick to the basic shades for work. A co-worker friend commented that Sparkling Turquoise and Emerald Glisten are more suitable for outside of work, but this is after I decided to apply a thicker line instead of staying with the thin line I usually go for. It actually took her a while to notice that I had it one when I applied a thin line of it. Prismatic Purple is an in-between shade….I think that you can get away with wearing it to the office for sure.

Staying power is good, but it falls a teeny bit short on the waterproof claim. After 6 hours, there is a little bit of flaking. One thing that would definitely help is not applying several layers or thicker layers of the liquid eye liner. I modified this and didn’t have a problem ever since aside from some wear after 6 hours or so. That is expected in my opinion though. The lid area will always have the grease issue over time and the waterline area will always have general wear being where it is at. Overall, a winner in my book. Swatches shown below are in ascending numeric order of the shades available. For each shade, I applied the liquid eye liner onto my arm twice to show what it looks like when I apply it on my upper lashline or waterline.

Milani Ultrafine Liquid Eye Liner Swatches (in shade)

Milani Ultrafine Liquid Eye Liner Swatches (direct sunlight)

Milani Ultrafine Liquid Eye Liner Swatches (with flash)

These retail for $7.49 each and should now be available in retail stores where Milani is sold. Otherwise, try nabbing it online on their website.

*Some products in this review may have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Milani Ultrafine Liquid Eye Liner | kittypolishnbags

  2. Jen

    Those swatches are so pretty! I’m always looking for liquid eyeliner I like because I can never seem to find one I really like on me. I might need to try these out.

    May 15, 2013 at 5:23 PM

    • Just don’t apply too much product on cause that will promote flaking. They last a decent amount of time and is pretty good for the price.

      May 28, 2013 at 3:44 PM

Leave a Reply

