things that Kitty likes

Zoya Summer PixieDust Swatches

Hey guys! Today’s post is on Zoya’s Summer PixieDust Collection. I have been eagerly awaiting for these since I loved the original PixieDust shades a lot! Without further ado, here are the swatches and review.

First up is Beatrix.

Zoya Beatrix

So promising….I had high hopes for this. I ended up not liking this as much as I thought it would, but I still like it enough to wear it once in a while. I thought it was going to be a bit brighter and bolder. I love orange. It’s a color I don’t wear often, so when I do end up with one it’s usually one that swept me off my feet. This one is described as “a tangerine metal sparkle in the exclusive Zoya PixieDust Textured, Matte, Foil Twinkle formula”. Shown is 2 generous coats with no top coat.

Zoya Beatrix (in shade)

Zoya Beatrix (direct sunlight)

Zoya Beatrix (close-up)

Next up is Stevie.

Zoya Stevie

Stevie is the one I thought would be my favorite, but it was overthrown by Miranda! I thought of all 6 shades in this collection that this one would bring out the most sparkle. Kinda like how I felt about Godiva from the earlier PixieDust collection. I thought it was too light and that I would like the darker sparkles better. WRONG! I’d wear Godiva to my wedding if I have one. Stevie is described as “a violet sparkle, in the exclusive Zoya PixieDust Textured, Matte, Sparkle formula”. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Stevie (in shade)

Zoya Stevie (direct sunlight)

Zoya Stevie (close-up)

A surprising one that turned out to be my favorite is called Miranda.

Zoya Miranda

The first thing I thought of when I saw the name is Miranda from Sex And The City. Then when I looked at the shade closely I though….naw…too light, not my type. I was dead wrong. It’s more of a magenta than pink really and it was instant love the minute I put it on. This is described as “a rose sparkle in the exclusive Zoya PixieDust Textured, Matte, Sparkle formula”. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Miranda (in shade)

Zoya Miranda (direct sunlight)

Zoya Miranda (close-up)

Moving on, we have Solange.

Zoya Solange

This one caught me offguard as well. It glows like whoa! I ended up liking it more than I thought I would. I thought it was going to be a yellow shade but no…..it’s GOLD, baby! I want to paint everyone’s nail in this shade – that’s how much I like it. This is described as “a gold metal foil sparkle featuring a Zoya EXCLUSIVE GOLD PIGMENT in the best-selling Zoya PixieDust Textured, Matte, Foil Twinkle formula”. Shown is 2 generous coats with no top coat.

Zoya Solange (in shade)

Zoya Solange (direct sunlight)

Zoya Solange (close-up)

Next up is Liberty.

Zoya Liberty

If there was a blue that would suit the name and the word “liberty”, this is it. It’s a vibrant and bold blue that demands attention. It is described as “a blue sugary sparkle in the exclusive Zoya PixieDust Textured, Matte, Sparkle formula”. Shown is 2 generous coats with no top coat.

Zoya Liberty (in shade)

Zoya Liberty (direct sunlight)

Zoya Liberty (close-up)

Last up is a shade called Destiny.

Zoya Destiny

Destiny is another one that surprised me but in the other direction. I liked this less than I thought I would. I was expecting the punch and boldness in this shade to be in Beatrix. This does have a flakie like effect in the finish though. Beatrix seems to have a little bit of that too, but it’s more evident with Destiny. It is described as “a coral metal sparkle in the exclusive Zoya PixieDust Textured, Matte, Foil Twinkle formula”. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Destiny (in shade)

Zoya Destiny (direct sunlight)

Zoya Destiny (close-up)

Formula is consistent with all 6 shades – easy to work with and dries pretty fast. They all dry with a matte finish that’s on the gritty side to the touch, much like sand but with tons of sparkle. I didn’t try using a top coat over these because I actually liked the finish itself. They all dried pretty fast and the wear is impressive. A great collection overall and much like the original PixieDust collection, well-balanced.

*Some products in this review may have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

2 responses

  1. beth.cole@me.com

    I love Miranda as well. I’ll be wearing it out this summer.

    May 14, 2013 at 8:11 PM

Leave a Reply

