things that Kitty likes

Not Your Mother’s Kinky Moves Curl Defining Hair Cream

What’s the product that applied to me the least from my Influenster Beauty Bloggers VoxBox 2012? It’s probably Not Your Mother’s Kinky Moves Curl Defining Hair Cream. Why? Well, just for the sheer fact that my hair is pretty much pin straight without help from any hair products or tools. That doesn’t mean I didn’t try it out at all. Trust me, I did. I even recruited my co-worker friends to try it being that they have wavy to curly hair. Of course, it worked better on them than me (as it should) but how much better really? Read on.

Not Your Mother’s Kinky Moves Curl Defining Hair Cream

The Influenster insert boasts about this product: “Kinky Moves is infused with natural grapeseed & jasmine to encourage natural curls and elimiate frizz and fly-aways.”

Verdict? A little goes a long way. I learned that the hard way. I figured I’d give it a go with my hair up in a bun since I get my hair curly that way most of the time. I slathered on too much and ended up having a semi-wet look and it didn’t hold my curls at all. My co-worker friends had better luck being that their hair was of the right hair type and they used less product than I did based on my experience. One found that it made her hair a little rougher in feel, so she didn’t like it at all. The other didn’t feel like it lived up to its claims to define her curls. Both didn’t like the scent while I loved it initially then hated it. The product is stated to be infused with grapeseed and jasmine and the scent tried its best to reflect that. I really like jasmine, but the scent itself actually gave me a headache after a few hours. It is easy to use with clear and concise instructions on the back of the tube. If you’re one that’s sensitive to stronger scents or are picky about it, you might want to pass on this product until you can find a tester tube or someone else that uses it and see for yourself if it’s something your nose can tolerate.

As long as you follow the instructions carefully, it claims to define curls that last all day long. Each full-sized 4 oz bottle retails for about $6.00 and is available at various major drugstores and mass retailers like Walmart and CVS. You can check the list of locations they are carried at here.

*Products featured here are complimentary to test through Influenster’s VoxBox program.*

Leave a Reply

