things that Kitty likes

Zoya Ornate Swatches

Zoya certainly outdid themselves with this Holiday’s collection. They’ve never done any holographic shades to my knowledge, so you can imagine my surprise when I saw that 3 out of the 6 shades have a holographic finish! It’s not a super strong holographic effect, but it certainly is pretty and something new from them that I welcome with open arms. More please, I say! Swatches below are shown in the order of the press release.

First up is Ziv.

Zoya Ziv

Ziv is described on their site as the following: “A full coverage, yellow-toned metallic gold foil with silver highlights and warm gold flake glitter accents. Try this for an extremely shiny, reflective, and eye-catching luxe gold nail.” Gold is a typical Holiday color that would naturally find a spot in a Holiday collection. No surprise there really, but the formula is simply exquisite. It glided on smoothly and dries really fast. Gotta love that. And the warm gold flake glitter accents in it? LOVE it. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Ziv (in shade)

Zoya Ziv (direct sunlight)

Zoya Ziv (close-up)

Next is Electra.

Zoya Electra

Electra is described on their site as the following: “A micro fine diamond holographic glitter mixed with large silver holographic bar tinsel in a clear base. Electra can be worn alone, as a festive french tip or layered over any polish to add a unique hologram glitter effect.” Electra is basically a holographic bar glitter shade. It’s a shade that some will hate and some will love. It looks best layered over something else, but for swatching purposes I just left it as is. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Electra (in shade)

Zoya Electra (direct sunlight)

Zoya Electra (close-up)

Next is a crowd favorite called Storm.

Zoya Storm

Storm is described on their site as the following: “A full coverage, holiday black with a high concentration of micro fine diamond holographic glitter. Storm is elegant, powerful and versatile – try it as a french tip over Aurora or Blaze!” Storm is black shade with holographic glitter. While it’s not a full on holographic shade, it’s still something different that we certainly would love to see more of from Zoya! In shade, it looks like a cool black shade with some silver glitter. The full effect is seen under direct sunlight. Shown is one thick coat with no top coat.

Zoya Storm (in shade)

Zoya Storm (direct sunlight)

Zoya Storm (close-up)

Moving on, we have Blaze.

Zoya Blaze

Blaze is described on their site as the following: “A full coverage, cool-toned medium mulberry red with a high concentration of micro fine diamond holographic glitter. The multidimensional holographic glitter adds complexity and depth to this vampy red.” Blaze is another holographic glitter shade in this collection. It’s the deep raspberry red version of Storm. And just like Storm, the holographic effect is certainly best seen under direct sunlight. It’s still very pretty under shade. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Blaze (in shade)

Zoya Blaze (direct sunlight)

Zoya Blaze (another angle)

Zoya Blaze (close-up)

Another holographic shade up next is Aurora.

Zoya Aurora

Aurora is described on their site as the following: “A full coverage, medium sugarplum purple flecked with a high concentration of micro fine diamond holographic glitter. The rainbow holographic sparkle turns this plum purple into something truly captivating.” Aurora is the purple version of Storm and Blaze. And just like those 2, it’s best seen under direct sunlight. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Zoya Aurora (in shade)

Zoya Aurora (direct sunlight)

Zoya Aurora (close-up)

Last in this collection is a shade called Logan.

Logan is described on their site as the following: “A full coverage, yellow-toned forest green with dense, foil-like yellow-gold and blue-green duochrome shimmer! Rich color, a sparkling finish and a subtle duochrome effect make this green very special. Pair it with a Zoya Ziv (gold) tip for an extra dash of holiday flare!” A Holiday green is another standard shade in a Holiday collection, but it’s one that I never get tired of really. I mean, I don’t think a Holiday collection would be complete without at the very least a red, a gold and a green…..right? While this shade isn’t really that far off from lots of shades I have, I’m glad that it’s not just a straight up shimmer. Formula is great and it dries very fast. Shown is one thick coat with no top coat.

Zoya Logan (in shade)

Zoya Logan (direct sunlight)

Zoya Logan (close-up)

I love this collection as a whole. I’m not a huge fan of Electra really and I thought that maybe they could’ve made a silver holographic glitter shade instead, but I can’t complain. If holographic shades is the direction Zoya is heading towards – I’m all for it.

*Some products in this review may have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

7 responses

  1. Pingback: Zoya Ornate Collection « kittypolishnbags

  2. Nice effort with all the photos! They are pretty – but as my eldest son’s name is Logan, I think I’m GOING to have to get that one :D Lucky I love the colour…

    October 31, 2012 at 1:51 PM

    • I do love that green! It’s not a straight up shimmer, which is good since I have a lot of green shimmers. That and the gold were the only ones that gave me zero problems with lighting. The others, I had to turn off flash which makes my skin color light and funny.

      October 31, 2012 at 1:58 PM

      • beachgal

        Least you seem to get photos – I try and most all my photos are horrible – but then I seem to only take postcard kind of shots – faces of peeps look horrible and I don’t do well at all with my cell phone camera. I would love to see your photos closer up like not quite a macro shot but so the nail/hand/bottle is all that is in the shot – totally get it if you cannot mange that however.

        October 31, 2012 at 2:31 PM

        • I will begin to do that when I get my hands on a better camera. I totally understand what you mean and have been meaning to get shots like that!

          October 31, 2012 at 3:00 PM

  3. beachgal

    I am loving this collection all but for Electra which is not a surprise as I don’t like last holiday 2011 Zoya bar glitters…but least the colors tossed out by Electra are rainbow-riffic. Did not think I would like Storm or Ziv as I don’t typically like gold polish and all the blacks with ‘stuff’ in them have been too weak that the ‘stuff’ burried into the polish – not so with Storm – others even see there is something going on big time in that black even when it’s not in perfect light to show up. All in all, my fav of the holiday collections this yr.

    October 31, 2012 at 2:29 PM

    • Good to hear that! So far, this is my favorite collection for Holiday. I haven’t really seen China Glaze yet. I have high hopes for that one.

      October 31, 2012 at 3:01 PM

Leave a Reply

