things that Kitty likes

Hard Candy Megawatt Smile Lipstick

The full name of this product is Hard Candy Saturated Lip Color Duo & Brush On Tooth Whitener, but I figured that most readers would refer to this as the Hard Candy Megawatt Smile Lipstick. I believe it’s one of their new products for 2012.

Hard Candy Megawatt Smile Lipstick

Described as “A lip duo that will have your smile looking perfectly pearly white! One side is a lipstick with a shimmer top coat center core, and the other is a brush-on tooth whitener. Shimmer center core is infused with blue pearls to make teeth appear more white. Tooth whitener can be applied daily for the brightest, shiniest smile around! $6″, this product comes in 8 different shades to choose from.

Hard Candy Megawatt Smile Lipstick (see the center core?)

What I love about this product? It comes in a typical lipstick size, so it will fit in your makeup bag and clutches just fine. The bottom part is the tooth whitener and that comes with a small brush for ease of application. The lipstick part has a nice center core that contains the shimmer in the product. The lipstick itself does not contain shimmer for the shade I got, Picture Perfect. Formula is smooth and creamy. It’s not as dry as some lipsticks I’ve tried. It’s more on the moisturizing side that could almost pass for a lip gloss, but not quite really. I’ve been seeing more and more lipsticks having this texture instead of the traditional ones where it’s more dry. It’s a pleasant change really. It lasts a decent amount of time on my lips, 6 hours or so. There is a minty feel that it leaves on my lips. I’m assuming it’s due to the center core part of the lipstick. The tooth whitener part works just like any other brush-on tooth whiteners out in the market.

What I don’t like about this product? None really. There is a shade for everyone pretty much and the price is very reasonable.

This item retails for about $6 is available exclusively at Walmart.

*Some products in this review may have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

15 responses

  1. Emily

    I am worried that it will mess up my teeth

    October 27, 2012 at 9:32 AM

    • The tooth whitener part? I didn’t try it much, but it should work just like any of the brush-on tooth whiteners out there in the market.

      October 27, 2012 at 6:04 PM

  2. Brittany

    Hello. I’m 19 years old & never could find a lipstick that fits me too well so I stuck with glosses. My boyfriend bought this amazing color “lipstick” because he caught me eye balling it at the local Walmart. Every since this is my go-to & it’s got me looking for a actual lipstick in the exact shade ,but no luck. The hard candy “picture perfect” seems more glossy & I’m wanting more on the lipstick side. Any brand you know that could match? Maybe revlon,loreal,nyx..? Something! I need this color in a lipstick x) Thanks.

    November 9, 2012 at 11:47 PM

    • Have you tried Revlon lip butters? They are moisturizing with color, but not too much color like the traditional lipstick. I haven’t posted a review on them yet, but I love them. Hands down favorite!

      November 14, 2012 at 11:15 AM

  3. Emily

    Do you have to brush your teeth after applying the whitening gel?

    December 12, 2012 at 1:56 PM

    • I think you leave it on. I would follow how other brand brush on teeth whitening formulas say. There’s no instructions on mine for it.

      December 14, 2012 at 11:26 AM

    • No, just follow the instructions like on a tooth whitening pen from another brand: “Remove cap from pen. Click base of pen to dispense small amount of gel to brush tip. BRUSH ON thin layer of gel to teeth. SMILE wide and keep lips away from teeth. Relax lips after 30 seconds. Replace cap. Do not eat or drink for 15 minutes after applying. Do not rinse. For best results, use pen 2 or 3 times daily.”

      December 27, 2012 at 3:10 PM

  4. ariana

    how dose the whitener work im scared to use it

    December 24, 2012 at 9:16 PM

    • This is taken from the directions of one brand’s brush on tooth whitener in a pen form: “Remove cap from pen. Click base of pen to dispense small amount of gel to brush tip. BRUSH ON thin layer of gel to teeth. SMILE wide and keep lips away from teeth. Relax lips after 30 seconds. Replace cap. Do not eat or drink for 15 minutes after applying. Do not rinse. For best results, use pen 2 or 3 times daily.”

      December 27, 2012 at 3:07 PM

  5. alyssa

    i need to know know how to use it and ive never tried using any teeth whitening formulas so i looked it up and i couldnt find anything

    December 27, 2012 at 2:03 PM

    • This is taken from the directions of one brand’s brush on tooth whitener in a pen form: “Remove cap from pen. Click base of pen to dispense small amount of gel to brush tip. BRUSH ON thin layer of gel to teeth. SMILE wide and keep lips away from teeth. Relax lips after 30 seconds. Replace cap. Do not eat or drink for 15 minutes after applying. Do not rinse. For best results, use pen 2 or 3 times daily.”

      December 27, 2012 at 3:08 PM

  6. Heather

    I have three Megawatt lipsticks and really enjoy them. They are sold only at Wal-Mart, so that’s the only problem I’ve had. I had to look in 6 different WalMarts before I finally found them in stock. The tooth whitener works! Brush it on and don’t eat or drink for 20 minutes. Daily use will prove a shade of whitening. I like the natural, earthy colors, and the cooling, minty feel of the gloss. Not a bad deal for 6 dollars!!

    July 11, 2013 at 12:33 PM

    • Glad to hear your take on the tooth whitener part. I didn’t use it consistently so I didn’t see that huge of a difference (only a bit). But this is promising and I’ll give that another whirl!

      July 11, 2013 at 1:26 PM

      • Anonymous

        Does the tooth whitener hurt your teeth? I am very sensitive to the whitening strips. Do you think I would be for this?

        February 21, 2014 at 12:10 AM

        • If you’re sensitive to whitening strips, I’d probably recommend not using this as it may have the same ingredients as the strips. But I’m no expert and I’m not sensitive to whitening strips.

          February 21, 2014 at 10:43 PM

Leave a Reply

