things that Kitty likes

China Glaze St. Martini

Hey guys! Hope y’all are having a great start of the day. Today’s post is about a shade that has been around for a while and is part of China Glaze’s Core Collection. Here’s China Glaze St. Martini.

China Glaze St. Martini

St. Martini is part of an older collection of theirs called Caribbean Temptations. I have always wanted to pick a few up from this collection that made it to the permanent line. I was sent this when my polishnbags twin was purging. I could see why. This is a pretty pink frost. Frosts normally rank really low in both our lists and this one’s no exception. While I don’t abhor it like most frosts, I’m not ready to welcome it into my collection just yet. St. Martini is not a strong frost to my standards. It behaved quite nicely with the brush strokes and formula was only a wee bit on the watery side. If it was more stubborn with the brush strokes, I would’ve passed this along into my swap box. For now, it’s just sitting in the middle of my unknown pile. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

China Glaze St. Martini (in shade)

China Glaze St. Martini (direct sunlight)

China Glaze St. Martini (close-up)

It’s a beautiful pink, but the brush strokes! Gah! Do you own any frosts or dislike them as much as I do?

8 responses

  1. Kara

    Despite the brush strokes, this polish still looks pretty.

    March 6, 2012 at 12:30 PM

    • Yes, it does! That’s why I’m on the fence about it!

      March 6, 2012 at 1:52 PM

  2. beachgal12

    Yea, agree with you. It’s not wowing me at all. If it was a metallic it would be OK – but it’s too much frost for me. I lived through the 60′s and 70′s when it was all about frost and really BAD frosts. I have never started to like frosts and can recall when OPI got started, they used to code their poilishes with S for shimmer (and honestly they were barely what we recognize as shimmer today), and F for frost. I would look carefully for those letters as a lot of the early OPI polishes you could not really tell from looking at the bottle.

    March 6, 2012 at 2:36 PM

  3. beachgal12

    Maybe try this with an Effects over it – or over the top WET coat of it so it sinks in and mixes with it. The frost is light, decent shade – worth playing with I would say.

    March 6, 2012 at 2:38 PM

  4. somecrazedlady

    Looks like I need to watch your swap box lol

    March 7, 2012 at 3:42 AM

    • Ah, lady! I’ll set this one aside for you! I’m sure I’m bound to send you something later on! :)

      March 7, 2012 at 11:28 AM

Leave a Reply

