things that Kitty likes

Mattese Elite Je T’Aime & Crackalacquers Layering

Okay, soooooooooo……I got this neat shade from Mattese Elite that actually pushed me to think about layering and stuff. I haven’t been that adventurous really when it comes to polish. Just slap a color on and make sure application is as good as I can get it. The end. That’s what usually happens. But I looked at it in the bottle and was so inspired to do something with it that I ended up with this….

Mattese Elite Je T'Aime & Crackalacquers Layering

Mattese Elite Je T'Aime & Crackalacquers Layering (rotated pic)

Um….yum?! I actually tried it with a black crackle first and the look reminded me of koi fishes and I got excited at the thought of doing it with other colors. The glitter pieces in Mattese Elite Je T’Aime kinda gave it a fish scale look at times. It did when I did the one with the black crackle, but I spread Je T’Aime more thinly over these instead and got the result shown. I used Pure Ice 582CP, a gold glitter, as the base then topped it with a layer of top coat. I had to or else the crackle would’ve attempted to be sucked in and spread around by the glitter base. The glitter shade dried a little bit rough and is what we refer to as a top coat eater. After that, I topped it with one nice layer of a Mattese Elite Crackalaquer shade. The ones shown (from left to right in photo above) are Dark Burgundy, Blue Star, Deep Purple and Metallic Orange. After the crackle shade is dry, I applied one coat of Je T’Aime. I used drying drops from Qtica to ensure that all layers are dry.

Mattese Elite Je T'Aime & Crackalacquers Layering (close-up)

Mattese Elite Je T'Aime & Crackalacquers Layering (rotated again)

Mattese Elite Je T'Aime & Crackalacquers Layering (in shade)

Mattese Elite Je T'Aime & Crackalacquers Layering (with flash)

Mattese Elite Je T'Aime & Crackalacquers Layering (clsoer shot)

While this is cute, I’m still going to do the one with black crackle version that I first fell in love with. And while my co-worker friends loved this look on me, it’s not something they’d sport on their nails. So I know not all of you will like it, but I hope some of you guys do. Here’s my first stab at doing a layering mani on the blog. Hope you’re looking forward to more!

*Some products in this review may have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

11 responses

  1. cute! <3

    March 1, 2012 at 8:19 AM

    • Thank you! It’s not for everyone, but I do like it and it’s much prettier in person!

      March 1, 2012 at 9:45 AM

  2. LOOOOOVE IT!

    March 1, 2012 at 9:47 AM

  3. Polarbelle

    Those are the prettiest crackles I’ve ever seen. *drool*

    March 1, 2012 at 12:49 PM

    • Thank you girl! The blue one is my favorite – simply gorgeous!

      March 1, 2012 at 1:35 PM

  4. Now see, I love this look! :)

    March 1, 2012 at 2:18 PM

  5. MissMidnightBlue

    OOoh! Pretty crackles! I have not seen Pure Ice Crackles anywhere. :/ I have to say my fave is the pinki nail. ;) and I must say that Je T’Aime is so gorgeous! *drooly drool*

    March 1, 2012 at 4:17 PM

    • I want to saw I saw the Pure Ice crackle sets at Walgreens, but I’m not 100% sure. I’ll tweet you if it indeed is! :)

      March 1, 2012 at 5:33 PM

  6. Pingback: Mattese Elite Je T’Aime « kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

