things that Kitty likes

Zoya True Swatches

Today’s post features swatches from one of Zoya’s latest collection, True. This 6-piece collection has some great and not so great shades according to my taste. I’ll be showing the swatches according to the order of the press release.

First up is Cho.

Zoya Cho

When I think of the name Cho, I think of the character Cho Chang from the Harry Potter series and this shade doesn’t describe her to me. It just doesn’t look like a Cho really, but the slight shimmer in this was a pleasant surprise. I enjoyed it so much that even when the clouds moved in to block the sunlight when taking pictures didn’t bother me at all. Formula was pleasant to work with. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Cho (in shade)

Zoya Cho (direct sunlight)

Zoya Cho (close-up)

Next up is Farah.

Zoya Farah

Described as a “full coverage, latte beige cream”, I like Farah the least from all 6 in this collection. It’s very plain and I’m not a huge fan of nude shades in general. And this doesn’t have that shimmer Cho has! This one behaved relatively well during application. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Farah (in shade)

Zoya Farah (direct sunlight)

Zoya Farah (close-up)

Then we have Bevin.

Zoya Bevin

I’ve never met a Bevin yet, but the name makes me think of a guy rather than a girl. But there are a lot of names like that these days. This shade is not one of my favorites from this collection and formula was a bit trickier to work with for me, at least compared to all 5 other shades. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Bevin (in shade)

Zoya Bevin (direct sunlight)

Zoya Bevin (close-up)

Next up is my favorite in the collection, Skylar.

Zoya Skylar

O HAI! Wow! What a beauty! I am absolutely head over heels in love with this shade! Now we’re talking Zoya! This shade is described as a “full coverage, silvered slate blue metallic” and that’s pretty close. The finish is quite mesmerizing really. Skykar is a blue shade with silver shimmer. Simply gorgeous. Formula was great and self-leveling. Any patchy spots evened out with the second coat. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Skylar (in shade)

Zoya Skylar (direct sunlight)

Zoya Skylar (close-up)

Then we have a shade called Tru.

Zoya Tru

Tru is described as a “full coverage, gilded purple orchid metallic” and “orchid” is definitely the perfect word to describe this shade. Tru is vibrant and a very feminine shade. The shimmer in it is like reddish gold. This one’s self-leveling too during application. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Tru (in shade)

Zoya Tru (direct sunlight)

Zoya Tru (close-up)

Zoya Tru (lighting changed)

Last, we have Lotus.

Zoya Lotus

I find Lotus to be the dusty version of Tru. I don’t like it as much simply for the fact that the shimmer is less visible and it’s smokier. I like my shimmers really visible or else what’s the point? It’s a muted purple with shimmer that looks pink and shows up better under sunlight. Formula is good to work with. Shown is 2 coats with no top coat.

Zoya Lotus (in shade)

Zoya Lotus (direct sunlight)

Zoya Lotus (close-up)

Not bad overall. If I had to pick 2, it’d be Sylar and Tru. Which ones are you guys getting?

*Some products in this review may have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

9 responses

  1. Pingback: Zoya True Collection « kittypolishnbags

  2. Cho and Skylar are my favorites.. great pictures.

    January 31, 2012 at 7:36 PM

  3. beachgal

    I am waiting to get my eyeballs on the OPI Holland collection since there are 3 here from Zoya that are near dupes in the OPI collection. When OPI has a good formula, I tend to like it better than the Zoya formula. The fact that Zoya put 2 nudes in this collection made me right there NOT want to get the collection as a whole, despite if you buy the entire collection you end up getting 1 bottle for free over the indv. bottle cost. Lotus is a must for me here – I am opting for Windamillion from OPI over Bevin (if I get either of them). Skylar I like but it’s so much like “Herring’ from OPI and I really love the little black specks in the OPI formula that we saw OPI put into the French Open Serena Wms. topper, Spark de Triumph last year. Tue for me is out as it’s coming across too much of a red violet that only makes my hands look really ruddy like I need hydration and real mani care when in fact I have great nails and not too bad of looking hands for my age. I have to watch that rare red that comes through in some browns and some violets – it’s a fine line on polish for me – much easier to draw the line when the same issue presents in eye shadows for me as to the no nos of red/browns or red-violets in those.

    January 31, 2012 at 7:54 PM

    • I forgot about the OPI Herring one…..I’ve been wanting to get that! And you’re right, Skylar would be similar to it from what it looks over here. Thanks for the heads up!

      January 31, 2012 at 7:55 PM

  4. Great swatches! I am bummed that so many are similar to the OPI Holland collection, but more $$ in my wallet I guess!

    February 1, 2012 at 7:46 AM

    • True, true! I am bummed at that AND that there are 2 nudes (granted one has shimmer). I thought they could’ve been more creative!

      February 1, 2012 at 8:40 AM

  5. All those Zoyas look amazing!

    February 3, 2012 at 6:16 AM

    • Thank you! :) They have a pretty good formula with shiny finishes!

      February 3, 2012 at 8:33 AM

Leave a Reply

