things that Kitty likes

Mattese Elite Cosa Nostra Swatches

Mattese Elite has release another collection recently, Cosa Nostra, which is mob themed. The 6 piece collection features more vibrant shades that I prefer than their Ballet Colors Of Me Collection, but my favorite so far is still shades from their Happy Hour Collection. I’ve had this collection for about 2 weeks now and have used them as full manis over that time span.

We begin with Boss.

Mattese Elite Boss

Boss is a light gunmetal shade with a frosty finish. The shade reminds me of cold steel or bullets, quite fitting for the theme. As many of you know, frosts don’t play nice in general and is probably my least favorite type of finish. I do love the color, but the finish makes application a pain. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Boss (in shade)

Mattese Elite Boss (direct sunlight)

Next up is Vig.

Mattese Elite Vig

Vig is a shade that I thought I’d like a lot, but it fell short in meeting my expectations in person. I will say that it is definitely more pigmented than I thought. It is a drab blue creme that’s opaque in one coat, but I applied another to cover up a smudge. Formula was a bit thicker than the rest, but that is possibly due to the fact that it leaked a little bit during shipping. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Vig (in shade)

Mattese Elite Vig (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Vig (close-up)

The one that surprised me in this collection is Consigliere.

Mattese Elite Consigliere

Consigliere is light blue creme with a teeny touch of grey. It reminded me a lot of another shade from their Ballet Colors Of Me Collection, Developpe, but they’re not close at all to even think they might be dupes. Formula was good and it applied smoothly onto my nails. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Consigliere (in shade)

Mattese Elite Consigliere (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Consigliere (close-up)

Next is my favorite of the bunch, Goomah Comare.

Mattese Elite Goomah Comare

Okay, it’s no surprise that this is my favorite shade among all 6 in this collection. I am not a huge fan of more neutral or work safe or drab shades. I like vibrant colors and this one just so happens to be the shade that has the most pop of color. Goomah Comare is a bright pink shimmer. Formula is excellent. It applied onto my nails evenly. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Goomah Comare (in shade)

Mattese Elite Goomah Comare (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Goomah Comare (close-up)

Next up is Whack.

Mattese Elite Whack

Whack is a shade I knew I was gonna have trouble deciding if I love it or hate it. After trying it on and leaving it on my nails for 2 days, I am still undecided. Whack is a plum purple creme. It’s very pigmented, but requires 2 coats for full opacity. Formula is good and it applied smoothly onto my nails. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Whack (in shade)

Mattese Elite Whack (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Whack (close-up)

Lastly, we have Capo.

Mattese Elite Capo

Capo is a grey shade with flecks of shimmer. I actually will classify it as a glass fleck shade even if the glass flecks are more sparse that those that usually fall in this category. Formula was good and it applied smoothly onto my nails. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Capo (in shade)

Mattese Elite Capo (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Capo (close-up)

Overall? Not bad. The wear on Mattese Elite shades have always been great for me when I do leave them on for days. Their formula is pretty consistent and there are a few shades in this collection that are very pigmented, some that you can get away with just one coat. They have churned out several collections already this year. I can’t wait to see what they might be offering for Halloween and for the Holiday season.

You can score any of these beauties directly on their webpage or if you live in the wonderful state of New York, you can stop by at any Ricky’s NYC store locations (see here) and see this and other shades for yourself before you buy. Mattese Elite shades retails for $5.99 each before tax.

*Some products in this review may have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

7 responses

  1. I loooove Consigliere and laughed so hard at Goomah Comare! They picked the names well. :)))

    September 5, 2011 at 5:55 PM

    • Yes! They stayed true with the mob theme. Goomah Comare is my fave!

      September 5, 2011 at 11:44 PM

  2. I like this collection, it feels… cohesive! Cohesive without being boring. I adore the gray-blue creme, and the gray flecky-shimmer. I can never get enough of the gray shades :D

    September 5, 2011 at 5:59 PM

    • I liked this collection much better than their Ballet one. Those were all pastels, so light and you can only do so much with that. This one has a good mix of drab-ish and bright shades. Glad you like this collection!

      September 5, 2011 at 11:43 PM

  3. Capo is the only one that seems to be unique. And that first blue, poor thing…it streaks like no one’s business. I did note that all these shades look good on you. Especially Whack.

    September 6, 2011 at 5:06 PM

    • That frost….O-M-G. I love the color but I don’t think I can get past the streaks! I’ll make a mental note to use Whack again. :)

      September 6, 2011 at 10:14 PM

  4. Pingback: Mattese Elite Crackalacquer Swatches « kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

