things that Kitty likes

Sinful Colors Amethyst

I just got back from the last of my Walgreens run this week to take advantage of the $0.99 Sinful Colors sale as well as getting some of the Revlon scented shades that were recently spotted everywhere (spend $3.99 and get $3 in Registered Rewards to use on your next purchase!). Well, today’s run was even more fun cause the Revlons I got rang up for $2.87 before tax. Sweet! I grabbed all the Sinful Colors I can find that I wanted and one of those that came home with me is Amethyst.

Sinful Colors Amethyst

Amethyst was spotted in a display for their Go Plaid Collection. I know that the display had 4 shades and the only other one I even bothered to look at was a green creme called Envy. Formula for this purple creme is pretty opaque. Just one coat honey! I thought about using thinner coats for this one, but it seemed pretty opaque so I went with one slightly thicker coat.

Sinful Colors Amethyst (in shade)

Sinful Colors Amethyst (direct sunlight)

Sinful Colors Amethyst (close-up)

Some Walgreens are open 24 hours a day, so it’s definitely not too late to get in on this deal last-minute!

12 responses

  1. Wow! This is just one coat? That’s insane! I was recently in the US and popped into Walgreens for a bunch of items, and walked out with my first SInful Colors polish…..which I haven’t had the chance to try yet! Now, you’ve got me so curious to swatch it! :)

    August 20, 2011 at 9:30 PM

    • I hope you got shades that takes one to 3 coats. Some are sheer that it takes 4 coats and I stop there….and there’s still VNL. It just depends. It can be a hit or miss with opacity.

      August 20, 2011 at 11:27 PM

  2. beachgal

    One coat is insane. I have tried this just swatching at the drugstore and ever Sinful I have tried I thought not even worth it on the sale price because they all were watery. Yet I keep seeing all your bloggers talking about Sinful. I guess if I did not have a 25+ yr old polish collection, a lot more at the drugstore would look interesting to me. If there is a shade I would not wear more than 2 times, maybe. Usually I just find it in a mini for 99 cents as it’s nothing I want to add to my collection which after this long, I really have a storage issue.

    August 20, 2011 at 10:07 PM

    • I have had the ones you’re talking about. I remember some really sheer shades from them that takes 4 coats and I still have VNL. Then there’s a handful that can pass for one coaters (or 2 thin coats). Those are awesome!

      I like their glitters and flakies the most. Can’t complain much about opacity there. Their neons are not watery at all, at least the one I picked up today called 24/7. Watery neons scare the crap out of my for application.

      August 20, 2011 at 11:29 PM

  3. beachgal

    Laughing at some WalMarts open 24 hrs a day – had no idea. I have to drive 70 miles one way just to get to the nearest WalMart to me! Not sure why a couple towns between me and there don’t want the revenue in taxes – they are too worried about putting out of bus. local small shops of which there are next to none left and they don’t sell the same things! A drive to WalMart does not help me with savings unless I need to be up in that area for a whole lot of things with the cost of gas now.

    August 20, 2011 at 10:12 PM

    • I know what you mean. We have Walmarts, Walgreens and Homeland (grocery) open 24 hours a day. It’s a plus for me for times when I get bored and want to go somewhere or when I have this oh crap moment late in the night cause I need something. Haha!

      August 20, 2011 at 11:31 PM

  4. Sexy. Reminds me of ChG Grape Pop

    August 20, 2011 at 11:41 PM

    • Ooooh, I think that was on my lemming list. If so, I may not need that anymore!

      August 21, 2011 at 12:04 AM

  5. One coat!! Yeaaaaa!!! It’s a very nice color too.

    August 21, 2011 at 4:50 PM

  6. Damn, damn, damn. It’s a fantastic shade. I’ll try to find it! I’m always astonished by Sinful Colors. Seriously, I’ve been more pleased than displeased by their polishes and yet they’re so cheap. I love this brand. :)

    I wouldn’t mind going to Walgreens in the middle of the night to get it. Just for the fun to buy a bottle of nail polish in the middle of the night which I have never done of course (impossible thing to do in France unless you order online). ;)

    August 22, 2011 at 4:08 PM

    • I drove like a bandit before they closed again to get other shades I wanted. I couldn’t resist. And this….a one coater?! It surprised me immensely. Definitely impressed me.

      August 22, 2011 at 4:32 PM

Leave a Reply

