things that Kitty likes

Mattese Elite Happy Hour Swatches

It’s Friday! Today’s post will go well with celebrating the start of the weekend. Is everybody else ready for this weekend to be over? I know I sure am! I will be going with a few co-worker friends down to the city after work for dinner and a shopping trip in the Asian grocery store. Fun times! And to kick things off, here are swatches for Mattese Elite’s Happy Hour Collection. Note: these 6 cocktail themed shades are scented!

First up is the one that caught my eye among the 6 shades, Hypnotic.

Mattese Elite Hypnotic

This bright, blue shimmery shade is soooooo pretty! I actually recruited a few guy co-workers to rate the accuracy of the scent and this one is dead on according to 2 of them (the rest didn’t know what it’s supposed to smell like, ha!). The scent is cloyingly sweet, but very tolerable to my nose and I’m pretty sensitive to scents. It didn’t give me a headache at all! This shade has a very slight duochrome shimmer that can be seen in certain angles only under direct sunlight. I can definitely say this shade did not disappoint in my book! Formula is easy to work with. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Hypnotic (in shade)

Mattese Elite Hypnotic (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Hypnotic (close-up)

Next up is named after a very popular drink, Cosmopolitan.

Mattese Elite Cosmopolitan

Cosmopolitan is a bright deep pink (I want to say fuchsia) shade that reminds me a lot of China Glaze’s Purple Panic. This shiny creme shade is very pretty and the color is sure to catch people’s attention. The scent is pretty accurate according to the boys. It applied onto my nails smoothly. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Cosmopolitan (in shade)

Mattese Elite Cosmopolitan (lighting changed)

Mattese Elite Cosmopolitan (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Cosmopolitan (close-up)

Next is based on another drink that I’ve heard a lot of before, Tequila Sunrise.

Mattese Elite Tequila Sunrise

The color of this shade suits the name of the drink, but the scent aspect for this one comes up a bit short. It smells faintly of orange and that’s about it. It doesn’t completely miss the mark at least. This duochrome property in this orange shimmer is more apparent than in Hypnotic. It’s quite mesmerizing seeing it. Unfortunately, it didn’t show up well in any of these swatch shots. I can barely see it in some shots and that’s about it. Formula was a teeny bit more watery than the other shades, but not on a deal breaker proportion. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Tequila Sunrise (in shade)

Mattese Elite Tequila Sunrise (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Tequila Sunrise (close-up)

Shirley Temple is another classic that a lot of people are familiar with.

Mattese Elite Shirley Temple

This one’s a fun bright, light pink creme shade that’s very delicate and feminine. It’s not as bold and wild as the other 5 shades in this collection. The scent for this one is lighter than the other shades and Seargent Grumbles (code name for my co-worker developer/chef) says it smells right to him. Formula is good to work with and it dried pretty fast. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Shirley Temple (in shade)

Mattese Elite Shirley Temple (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Shirley Temple (close-up)

Next shade is a staple in any Happy Hour gathering my co-worker friends have, Apple Martini.

Mattese Elite Apple Martini

Mmmmmmm…….just hearing the name of that drink is making my mouth water. However, the scent isn’t that accurate. All the boys detected a relatively strong presence of coconut and they all guessed it was Pina Colada. It’s a bit too sweet too to be Apple Martini, but these are just what the boys think of it. Your experience may vary with any of these opinions stated. :) I will admit though that the scent doesn’t screm Apple Martini to me. This bright green neon shade is a pretty addition to my stash. I must admit I was expecting a more sublte apple green shade based on the name. It applied onto my nails smoothly. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Apple Martini (in shade)

Mattese Elite Apple Martini (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Apple Martini (close-up)

Last shade in this collection is Purple Passion.

Mattese Elite Purple Passion

I don’t think I’ve ever had this drink before. The grape scent of this shade is pretty strong. Pobe says he smells grape, but isn’t quite sure if it makes the mark. Sergeant Grumbles says it’s pretty good compared to the real thing. This grape purple creme shade has a very shiny finish compared to the other cremes in this collection. Application was smooth and easy. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Mattese Elite Purple Passion (in shade)

Mattese Elite Purple Passion (direct sunlight)

Mattese Elite Purple Passion (close-up)

Overall? Well-rounded collection that has a very fun theme. My co-worker friend S (yes, I have several of them) thought it would be fun to go out one night and order these 6 drinks and verify the scent accuracy. Fun activity indeed…..but could be pricey! :D I don’t think these are all straight up neons, but some definitely are such as Apple Martini.

You can score any of these beauties directly on their webpage or if you live in the wonderful state of New York, you can stop by at any Ricky’s NYC store locations (see here) and see this and other shades for yourself before you buy. Mattese Elite shades retails for $5.99 each before tax.

*Some products in this review may have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

11 responses

  1. HI K2k: I the color on the web site you mentioned for the Elite blue called Neon Blue? and the color you mentioned for the same website listed as Neon Purple? I can’t seem to find the Maltese Elite Purple passion or hypnotic blue even mentioned on their web site. Love this new lay-out even for the comments section, LOL Or am I looking at something completely different. Your right the first blue color is hypnotic and the last purple passion color is I want it, since I love purples!

    Love,

    George :)

    June 12, 2011 at 7:51 PM

    • Hi George!

      The collection is very, very new…..it might have some kinks showin up on their website but I’m looking it up for ya right now. They have other neon collections too and while the shade might be slightly different, those aren’t scented. So it just depends on which floats your boat! Here’s the blue and purple:

      http://www.matteseelite.com/nails/nail-polish/mattese-elite-nail-polish-happy-hour-collection-hypnotic-5-oz.html

      http://www.matteseelite.com/nails/nail-polish/mattese-elite-nail-polish-happy-hour-collection-purple-passion-52-oz.html

      Those are straight from the ME website. The whole collection is also viewable at Ricky’s: http://www.rickysnyc.com/mattese-elite-nail-polish-happy-hour-collection.html

      I believe they have the same cart for checkout. :) Don’t forget to check out some shades they have on sale ($0.99!). I picked out a few to feature here too in a bit. Can’t beat that price even with shipping. Happy shopping!

      June 13, 2011 at 12:39 AM

      • HI Kitty: Thanks for the links If I had all the polish colors in front of me right now at $5.99 I would probably buy them all, LOL I really like the Mattesse hypnotic and purple passion, but the neon green, yellow and pink /red are super looking, I just spent some monies on Deborah Lippmann these color polishes are so amazing, I did sign up for their newsletter for their sales. “All my Universe and Wicked Game and Razzle Dazzle, LOL but hopefully I can get the ones I want. Thanks again for the links, they look so super delicious on your gorgeous nails. Your so very nice and helpful. I really appreciate this. Love, George :)

        June 13, 2011 at 3:24 PM

        • No problem George! Glad you see the colors you liked and more! And yes, Deboral Lippmanns are so dreamy!

          June 13, 2011 at 5:16 PM

  2. Kia

    Apple Martini is drop dead gorguesse! I’m not a big fan of scentet polishes, but the color was faboules!

    June 13, 2011 at 9:28 AM

    • I’m just glad that the scents weren’t very “fake” like some nail polishes are. And they weren’t too overpowering. Some are stronger than others, but pretty much stayed true to the scent of the drinks.

      June 13, 2011 at 11:31 AM

  3. I didn’t know Hypnotic and Purple Passion were the names of drinks. Guess I have to get out more. :)

    June 14, 2011 at 4:24 PM

    • I knew Hypnotic was (I think it might be spelled with a “Q” at the end instead) a drink cause my ex’s friends call it a girly drink. LOL

      June 14, 2011 at 4:50 PM

  4. The Spy

    Wow! What great pictures! I first thought that Cosmopolitan would be my favorite but as I read on I finally decided on Purple Passion, with Shirley Temple winning the honorable mention :p Great swatches again!

    June 28, 2011 at 2:01 AM

  5. Pingback: Mattese Elite Cosa Nostra Swatches « kittypolishnbags

Leave a Reply

