things that Kitty likes

OPI Pirates Of The Caribbean: On Stranger Tides Swatches

Okay, most of y’all have seen swatches of these floating around on other blogs. It’s only a matter of time I’ll have it up on mine, so here it is…..swatches for OPI Pirates Of The Carribbean: On Stranger Tides Collection.

Let’s start with my favorite, Sparrow Me The Drama.

OPI Sparrow Me The Drama

This pink creme shade is right up my alley! It’s a dusty pink that can be worn all year round. I wouldn’t mind sporting this during any season of the year really. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

OPI Sparrow Me The Drama (in shade)

OPI Sparrow Me The Drama (direct sunlight)

OPI Sparrow Me The Drama (another shot)

OPI Sparrow Me The Drama (close-up)

OPI Sparrow Me The Drama (with Silver Shatter)

OPI Sparrow Me The Drama (with Silver Shatter close-up)

OPI Sparrow Me The Drama (with Silver Shatter close-up and top coat)

Next up is my next favorite, Planks A Lot.

OPI Planks A Lot

This dusty purple caught me by surprise. I’m usually not a fan of dusty cremes, but the ones in this collection definitely surprised me. I adore this purple creme shade. In fact, this is one of my top 3 purple creme shades of all time. Sorry for the silver glitter bits you see around my finger. It’s from the removal of the previous shade with Silver Shatter. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

OPI Planks A Lot (in shade)

OPI Planks A Lot (direct sunlight)

OPI Planks A Lot (close-up)

OPI Planks A Lot (another shot)

OPI Planks A Lot (with Silver Shatter)

OPI Planks A Lot (with Silver Shatter close-up)

OPI Planks A Lot (last shot)

Next we have probably the most popular shade in this collection, Mermaid’s Tears.

OPI Mermaid's Tears

Another dusty creme shade in this collection! Can you see the trend here? This one’s the green creme in the collection. This type of shade seems to be popular this year. I have seen similar shades in other brands’ collections for both Spring and Summer. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

OPI Mermaid's Tears (in shade)

OPI Mermaid's Tears (direct sunlight)

OPI Mermaid's Tears (close-up)

OPI Mermaid's Tears (with Silver Shatter)

OPI Mermaid's Tears (with Silver Shatter close-up)

Here’s another one I like a lot, Steady As She Rose.

OPI Steady As She Rose

This one’s a very light rose shade. A little bit dusty as well. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

OPI Steady As She Rose (in shade)

OPI Steady As She Rose (direct sunlight)

OPI Steady As She Rose (close-up)

OPI Steady As She Rose (with Silver Shatter)

OPI Steady As She Rose (with Silver Shatter close-up)

Here we have another crowd favorite, Skull & Glossbones.

OPI Skull & Glossbones

I love this shade, another surprise in the bunch for me. It looks like a slightly dusty nude with a hint of gray. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

OPI Skull & Glossbones (in shade)

OPI Skull & Glossbones (direct sunlight)

OPI Skull & Glossbones (close-up)

OPI Skull & Glossbones (with Silver Shatter)

OPI Skull & Glossbones (with Silver Shatter close-up)

Last shade of the bunch is named after the movie, Stranger Tides.

OPI Stranger Tides

I can see the appeal of this shade, but it’s just not a favorite of mine. It looks like a dusty grey-ish green creme shade to me. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

OPI Stranger Tides (in shade)

OPI Stranger Tides (direct sunlight)

OPI Stranger Tides (close-up)

OPI Stranger Tides (with Silver Shatter)

OPI Stranger Tides (with Silver Shatter close-up

The Silver Shatter dries a bit matte, but it packs a lot of shine still without top coat. I only applied top coat over Silver Shatter on one shade, Sparrow Me The Drama. You can see that it’s shinier, but not much of a difference really. One thing you really have to do is to let the underlying shade dry before applying the Silver Shatter. You can see in my Mermaid’s Tears with Silver Shatter swatch that the Silver Shatter layer pulled onto Mermaid’s Tears a bit, as I didn’t let it fully dry before application. I applied a thin coat of Silver Shatter on all the shades, as shown in the pictures. Formula for all 6 creme shades were lovely, a dream to work with. They went on smoothly and were almost as creamy and buttery as the cremes from OPI’s Hong Kong Collection I’ve used before.

These should be available in various retail stores such as ULTA and Trade Secret. So, which shade will you be getting?

*Some products in this review may have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

16 responses

  1. thank you for the awesome swatches! now I want these even more =)))

    May 17, 2011 at 12:28 PM

    • Thank you for the kind words! I hope the swatches helps!

      May 17, 2011 at 2:05 PM

  2. I got the minis and a Silver Shatter to go with them. Planks A Lot surprised me a LOT! Skull and Glossbones, I knew I’d adore that on. For the most part, I think OPI did a great rendition of capturing POC’s feeling.

    May 17, 2011 at 2:36 PM

    • Yes! I didn’t think it would at first because of the pastel-ish vibe but man…..they got it right!

      May 17, 2011 at 3:53 PM

    • Hi Kimberly:

      May I ask you what you paid for the mini’s and where did you buy them? Online or at a cosmetic/beauty store? They look so good and hot.

      Thank you,

      Love,

      George :)

      May 20, 2011 at 6:59 PM

  3. I love these swatches! OPI nail polishes score real big with me with this Pirates of the Carri bean collection> You love “Sparrow me,”: as your favorite and I can see why, I love this dusty pink creme, looks gorgeous on you, I love Mermaid’s Tears as mine, because you call it a “green dusty creme” however, I would love to wear this for “Teal Toes,” the campaign for raising more awareness for ovarian cancer. Why? The bluish green looks amazing for it’s teal color. OPI Planks a lot, another hit, I love purples, and this purple creme is so beautiful and to be, “one of the top purple shades of all time…” says a lot for this yummy purple.

    Then when you add the OPI Silver Shatter they all become more amazing then I ever dreamed of. What OPI colors will I be wearing? I love all of these shades. Thank you for swatching them.

    Love,

    George :)

    May 17, 2011 at 4:00 PM

    • You’re welcome George! Glad this has helped you plan out your possible future purchase!

      May 17, 2011 at 4:58 PM

  4. It certainty has, thanks again.

    Love,
    George :)

    May 17, 2011 at 5:25 PM

  5. great nail colors- makes me wanna go have fun painting mine!

    May 17, 2011 at 10:09 PM

    • I’m just glad it’s not a bright collection targeted just to fit summer. You can wear these any time of the year!

      May 17, 2011 at 11:34 PM

  6. Mermaids Tears is still the color I want out of this collection. I’ve really been in a turquoise/teal mode lately and it fits the bill. Lovely swatches!

    May 18, 2011 at 11:56 AM

  7. Pingback: OPI Pirates Of The Caribbean: On Stranger Tides Swatches … | Pirates of the Caribbean 4 ------- On Stranger Tides

  8. Kia

    Love this collection! I’m getting Planks Alot and Mermaid Tears. Loved your swatch!

    May 20, 2011 at 10:24 AM

  9. Cindi

    I ended up getting Planks A Lot, Skull and Glossbones, On Stranger Tides, and Mermaids Tears. I liked Sparrow Me The Drama in the bottle, but on the nail it looks too sheer and too watery a color for me. The swatches really help!

    April 3, 2013 at 9:41 PM

    • Glad it did! Mermaid Tears is a popular one if I remember right.

      April 4, 2013 at 10:35 AM

Leave a Reply

