things that Kitty likes

Sally Hansen Spring 2011 Tracy Reese Collection Swatches

I posted the Prabal Gurung for Sally Hansen Spring 2011 Collection a few days ago, so today is Tracy Reese’s turn! As with the Prabal Gurung post, I am posting the swatches for this collection in the order that they appeared in the press release picture. Without further ado, here is Tracy Reese for Sally Hansen Spring 2011.

First up is Delphinium.

Sally Hansen Delphinium

I wondered about what the name meant and a quick online search led me to “any of numerous plants of  the genus Delphinium,  especially any of various tall, cultivated species having usually blue, pink, or white flowers” on Dictionary.com. Interesting! A pretty shade nevertheless. In fairness, this delicate hue does make me think of Spring or Easter-ish flowers. Formula is a winner. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Sally Hansen Delphinium (in shade)

Sally Hansen Delphinium (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Delphinium (close-up)

Sally Hansen Delphinium (last shot)

Next up is the shade in the collection that generated the most buzz, Barracuda.

Sally Hansen Barracuda

Of all 7 shades in the collection, this one was the one I was least satisfied with in pictures. I looked at my nails and it looked nice and neat, but you will notice in some shots there is excess polish that I attempted to clean off afterwards that I missed. It was not noticeable in person, but the pictures does capture it much more than I would like. :/ A very pretty pale blue. I am tempted to say baby blue, but I won’t go as far to say quote me on that. Formula is a bit watery and can be patchy in application. It evens out with more coats. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

Sally Hansen Barracuda (in shade)

Sally Hansen Barracuda (lighting changed)

Sally Hansen Barracuda (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Barracuda (close-up)

Third shade featured is called Coral Fever.

Sally Hansen Coral Fever

Yum! Need I say more? This shade looks so juicy! A beautiful coral shade that’s perfect for the summer….I can see it on both fingers and toes! Formula is a bit watery, but gave me no problems during application. I chose to sport this shade more opaque. I used 3 thin coats with no top coat.

Sally Hansen Coral Fever (in shade)

Sally Hansen Coral Fever (this just looks so juicy!)

Sally Hansen Coral Fever (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Coral Fever (close-up)

Sally Hansen Coral Fever (juicy last shot!)

Next is the darkest shade in this collection, Summer Plum.

Sally Hansen Summer Plum

Oh wow, nice vampy plum shade. It didn’t look like it was going to be that dark just by looking at the bottle. It took my breath away when it glided smoothly onto my nails. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Sally Hansen Summer Plum (in shade)

Sally Hansen Summer Plum (lighting changed)

Sally Hansen Summer Plum (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Summer Plum (close-up)

Sally Hansen Summer Plum (so rich and dark!)

I had to learn to love the next shade, Eel Skin.

Sally Hansen Eel Skin

WOW. I mean, simply WOW. I never thought I liked shades like this. I LOVE this. Formula was a dream to work with. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat. It’s one of my favorite shades from this entire collection. I don’t know why. I think I lost my marbles. I used to hate shades like this. Help!

Sally Hansen Eel Skin (in shade)

Sally Hansen Eel Skin (lighting changed)

Sally Hansen Eel Skin (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Eel Skin (close-up)

A pretty pink in the bunch is First Kiss.

Sally Hansen First Kiss

I absolutely adore this pink. I did thought it was lighter based on the press release picture, but I’m not going to complain! It’s a very fun pink that is just right for Spring into Summer. Formula is a bit watery, so application is patchy with the first coat. It evens out with more coats. Shown is 3 thin coats with no top coat.

Sally Hansen First Kiss (in shade)

Sally Hansen First Kiss (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen First Kiss (close-up)

Last shade is simply named Malt.

Sally Hansen Malt

Doesn’t the name seem appropriate for the shade? To me, Malt is more of a summery name though. This light chocolate-y malt shake shade wraps up this collection nicely. Formula is a dream to work with. It practically applied itself onto my nails. Shown is 2 thin coats with no top coat.

Sally Hansen Malt (in shade)

Sally Hansen Malt (lighting changed)

Sally Hansen Malt (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Malt (close-up)

Which ones of these will you be getting when it hits stores in May? The original anticipated release of this was in March, but I was told these will be in retail stores by May.

*Some products in this review may have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

17 responses

  1. Hi Kitty my friend: I love this collection and have fallen in love with Sally Hansen Delphinium, (purple/lavender)I always go for the purple shades and this one is scrumptious indeed,plus a bonus, the plum I have been waiting for in Sally Hansen Summer Plum, (perfect plum I have been waiting for for the China Glaze Nail glaze!)
    However, I also love the light blueness of Sally Hansen Barracuda, LOL I have a woman friend who will die over the other soft shades of Sally Hansen Coral Fever and Sally Hansen Malt (as well as Sally Hansen Eel Skin, and always loves the pink hues of this one I am sure
    Sally Hansen First Kiss,) I plan to forward her this web site link; lso there you have it. I love the wide Hugh pictures of your swatches kitty, no one else shows what you have, so I will be back again and await these shades in May which will probably take a big chunk out of my pocket book but then that is why I am and will always be a nail polish fanatic, LOL Namaste.

    Much Love,
    Mc Huggs :)

    April 7, 2011 at 8:14 AM

    • Forward away! :) I’m just glad that my blog helps people with deciding which shades they want to get or pass.

      April 7, 2011 at 9:36 AM

  2. i adore the light blue and light purples!

    April 7, 2011 at 10:53 AM

  3. Love the purple!!!

    April 7, 2011 at 11:28 AM

  4. Oooh I love all of those colors!! I will probably be getting all of them when they come out LOL very nice swatches!! :)

    April 7, 2011 at 12:35 PM

    • Thank you! Formula wasn’t bad. A little patchy with some shades, but totally workable.

      April 7, 2011 at 3:49 PM

  5. Jennifer

    Oh, you’ve just put an end to my planned no-buy! Hee hee! I love the formulas from that line. Okay, so I want: Delphinium, Coral Fever, Eel Skin, and maybe Barracuda. Great pics!

    April 7, 2011 at 2:57 PM

  6. Delphinium, love the color; complicated name. However, it’s my favorite of the collection.

    April 7, 2011 at 3:09 PM

    • It is! That’s why I looked it up. I was intrigued on how they came about with that name for this shade!

      April 7, 2011 at 3:47 PM

  7. Jessica

    Where can I buy the Barrcuda and Delphinium ones?! I love them!

    April 10, 2011 at 5:21 PM

    • It should be available at various mass retail and drugstores in the next few weeks. May is what I was told. :)

      April 11, 2011 at 12:49 AM

  8. Pingback: Sally Hansen Spring 2011 Collections « kittypolishnbags

  9. Elena

    hi do you know if the tracy reese collection is still in stock?

    June 12, 2011 at 9:27 PM

    • They should be available in various retailers such as Target and Walmart. It just depends on when the store rolls it out, but some readers have already spotted them as early as beginning of last month.

      June 13, 2011 at 12:34 AM

Leave a Reply

