things that Kitty likes

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips Bling It On

You probably have heard of these unless you have been living under a rock for the past few months. One of the latest offerings from Sally Hansen is their line of Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips. It’s basically nail polish strips that you stick onto your nails instead of using traditional nail polish. I see lots of advantages to this product and I got the chance to try this out with the strips shade called Bling It On.

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips Bling It On

The package comes with 16 nail polish strips that is packaged in 2 separate sealed packets, a cuticle stick and a mini file and buffer to prep the nail plate. Instructions provided can’t get easier than push cuticles back, grab the correct sized strip and apply onto nail nicely, pat strip in place firmly and break off the excess with the help of the nail file. I just tug at the strip in a downwards motion and it breaks off pretty nicely from the edge of my nails.

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips

It’s really easy to apply and there is no need to clean up the nail area after application. What a huge difference in terms of experience from the traditional nail polish. It was quite refreshing. The strips are long enough to be used for both sets of hands by cutting it in half if your nails aren’t too long. That’s what I did with mine. I opened only one packet in the box and applied the strip to one nail and cut off the excess with the help of the cuticle stick in holding onto the excess (I didn’t want to touch the sticky part with my fingers to preserve adhesiveness). I then applied the other half to the corresponding nail on the other hand. As a result, I have no need to open the other packet. A box will last me for 2 full manis this way.

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips Bling It On (in shade)

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips Bling It On (direct sunlight)

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips Bling It On (close-up)

Sally Hansen Salon Effects Nail Polish Strips (look at the glitter!)

Aside from the clean up factor, what else do I love about this product? Glitter removal isn’t a pain at all! Bling It On is a pink glitter shade and I dreaded removal of this. I was hoping that being that it’s a nail polish strip, it might be easier….and it is! Removal for these nail polish strips isn’t any different from removing your regular nail polish. I was armed with my 100% acetone for this one and I worried for nothing. It came right off with minimal elbow grease.

This is a cool product for those that are on the go and won’t have time to wait for their polish to dry. You can apply it on a few fingers and continue on a few hours later. No clean up required and lasting power is excellent. I had the strips on my nails for 10 days and only took it off because of the nail growth around my cuticle area. It doesn’t peel off when showering or washing dishes. I added a layer of top coat for extra shine.

You can purchase this product at various retail and drugstores such as Walmart, Target, ULTA, CVS, and Walgreens.

*Some products in this review may have been provided by the PR company or manufacturer for an honest opinion.*

4 responses

  1. Oh, it´s very pretty! Looks like you polished it ;)

    March 16, 2011 at 10:03 AM

    • Thanks! It’s really eay to use! I can’t wait to use the next one!

      March 16, 2011 at 11:09 AM

  2. Looks great! Now I regret not getting the lace one…

    March 16, 2011 at 11:32 AM

    • I have that one to try later on. The wear is amazing. I wasn’t expecting it to last that long. I thought since it’s a stick on that it would fall off sooner or later. Not with this!

      March 16, 2011 at 11:41 AM

Leave a Reply

